• News Feeds
Page last updated at 09:03 GMT, Tuesday, 27 December 2011

Africa's 'morally courageous' leaders


The Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership is awarded to an African leader who governs well in terms of delivering security, health, education and economic development for their people, and who then also democratically transfers power to their successor.

This year went to Pedro Verona Pires, the former president of Cape Verde, a 10 island republic just off the continent's western coast and a regional success story.

The Today programme's Evan Davis caught up with Dr Ibrahim at this year's prize giving event in Tunis, together with two past winners of the Prize, Festus Mogae, the former president of Botswana and Joaquim Chissano, the former president of Mozambique.

Get in touch with Today via email , Twitter or Facebook or text us on 84844.


Story Tools


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific