|Think you know your offside?|
|Around the Academy:
The dreaded offside! Most people think they know the rules, but what about you?
Nothing's straight forward though is it?! You can sometimes be in an offside position and STILL not be offside!
What's all that about it? Don't panic Academy punters, help is at hand.
A player is in an offside position if they are nearer to the opposition's goal line than both the ball and the second last opponent.
Clear so far? There are a few more things to remember.
You can't be offside if:
Still following the rule? You can be deemed on-side even if you are offside! It's quite a new rule and is all down to interpretation.
We've put together a number of offside examples to help explain this and the other offside rules.
Get smart and beat that flag.