Where I Live
A-Z Index
BBC Sport Academy
BBC Sport You are in: Cricket: Rules: The basics  

The basics
Ways of getting out
Fielding positions
Setting a field
Umpire signals

Latest Sports News
Academy Parent

Get the newsletter
The players
Around the Academy:

The main players in a cricket match
The fielding team have all 11 players on the field at the same time but there are only ever two batsmen.

Nine members of the fielding team can be positioned around the field depending on where the captain wants them.

The other two members of the team are the wicketkeeper and the bowler.

The bowler delivers the ball, overarm, at one of the batsmen who will try and hit the ball to score runs.

One run is scored each time the batsmen cross and reach the set of stumps at the other end of the pitch.

Four runs can be scored if the ball reaches the perimeter of the field or six runs if crosses the perimeter without bouncing.

Although all 11 players have the chance to bat, the team are "all out" when 10 wickets have fallen as the "not out" batsman is left without a team-mate at the other end of the wicket.

A team doesn't have to be all out for an innings to close.

If a captain feels their team has scored enough runs, they can bring the innings to a close by making a "declaration".

Teams also have a "12th man" who acts as a substitute fielder if one of the first 11 are injured.

However, the 12th man is not allowed to bat or bowl.

^^ Back to top
© BBC Contact us | Help | About us Disclaimer
Football  |  Cricket  |  Tennis  |  Golf  |  Rugby Union  |  Rugby League  |  Athletics  |  Basketball  |  Swimming
Other Sport  |  In the Gym  |  Healthy Eating  |  Treatment Room  |  Your Blueprint  |  Learning Centre