Skip to main content Text Only version of this page
Where I Live
A-Z Index
BBC Sport World Cup 2002

 You are in: History  
Front Page
Team Pages
Other News
Sports Talk
TV/Radio Coverage
Photo Galleries
Venues Guide
Matches Wallchart
World Cup Greats

BBC Sport

BBC News

BBC Weather

Wednesday, 17 April, 2002, 12:43 GMT 13:43 UK
Italy 1990
Andreas Brehme scores the winner in the final
Andreas Brehme (3) scores the winner in the final
Italia 90 was dominated by negative, defensive football and the final was probably the worst in World Cup history.

It was won by West Germany, who beat Argentina 1-0 thanks to a dubious Andreas Brehme penalty.

The South Americans were a shadow of the side that had lifted the trophy four years before.

They were lucky even to make it past the first stage after losing to nine-man Cameroon in the opening game.

Paul Gascoigne was reduced to tears when he received a booking
Paul Gascoigne's tears touched a nation

The Indomitable Lions were every neutral's favourites before finally losing to a mightily relieved England in the last eight.

The English went on to reach the last four for the first time since 1966, before losing to Germany on penalties.

The match in Turin produced one of the most vivid images of the tournament as Paul Gascoigne burst into tears after a booking which meant he would miss the final if England beat the Germans.

Luciano Pavarotti, who sang the tournament anthem Nessun Dorma, became a global celebrity, but, with the exception of Roger Milla and his Cameroon team-mates, there were too few stars on the pitch.

The Republic of Ireland were making their first appearance in the final stages of a World Cup.

They drew 1-1 with England in their group match, a result which helped both teams go through.

In the last 16, Ireland beat Romania on penalties, while England overcame Belgium courtesy of a dramatic David Platt volley in the last minute of extra-time.

Roger Milla was Cameroon's star player
Roger Milla is mobbed by his team-mates

That brought them up against Cameroon in the last eight and the Africans gave England an almighty shock.

With 38-year-old Roger Milla once again excelling as a second-half substitute, Cameroon took a 2-1 lead before two Gary Lineker penalties helped England through, again after extra-time.

A solitary goal from the prolific Toto Schilaci saw Italy beat Ireland to move into the last four, where they played Argentina in Naples, while England faced their old rivals.

Both matches went to penalties, with Germany and Argentina winning to set up a re-match of the 1986 final.

England lost the third-place play-off 2-1 to the hosts, but Germany gained revenge for their defeat by Argentina four years before.

Brehme coolly converted the decisive penalty in the 85th minute to win the Germans their third title.

Argentina became the first side not to score in the final and to have not one, but two players sent off.

Group 1 results:
Italy 1-0 Austria
Czechoslovakia 5-1 United States
Italy 1-0 United States
Czechoslovakia 1-0 Austria
Austria 2-1 United States
Italy 2-0 Czechoslovakia

Group 2 results:
Cameroon 1-0 Argentina
Romania 2-0 USSR
Argentina 2-0 USSR
Cameroon 2-1 Romania
USSR 4-0 Cameroon
Argentina 1-1 Romania

Group 3 results:
Brazil 2-1 Sweden
Costa Rica 1-0 Scotland
Scotland 2-1 Sweden
Brazil 1-0 Costa Rica
Costa Rica 2-1 Sweden
Brazil 1-0 Scotland

Group 4 results:
Colombia 2-0 UAE
West Germany 4-1 Yugoslavia
Yugoslavia 1-0 Colombia
West Germany 5-1 UAE
Yugoslavia 4-1 UAE
West Germany 1-1 Colombia

Group 5 results:
Belgium 2-0 South Korea
Uruguay 0-0 Spain
Spain 3-1 South Korea
Belgium 3-1 Uruguay
Uruguay 1-0 South Korea
Spain 2-1 Belgium

Group 6 results:
England 1-1 Rep of Ireland
Holland 1-1 Egypt
England 0-0 Holland
Rep of Ireland 0-0 Egypt
England 1-0 Egypt
Rep of Ireland 1-1 Holland

Second round results:
Czechoslovakia 4-1 Costa Rica
Cameroon 2-1 Colombia (aet)
West Germany 2-1 Holland
Argentina 1-0 Brazil
Rep of Ireland 0-0 Romania (aet)
(Rep of Ireland win 5-4 on penalties)
Italy 2-0 Uruguay
England 1-0 Belgium (aet)
Yugoslavia 2-1 Spain

Quarter-finals results:
Argentina 0-0 Yugoslavia (aet)
(Argentina win 3-2 on penalties)
Italy 1-0 Rep of Ireland
West Germany 1-0 Czechoslovakia
England 3-2 Cameroon (aet)

Semi-finals results:
Argentina 1-1 Italy (aet)
(Argentina win 4-3 on penalties)
West Germany 1-1 England (aet)
(West Germany win 4-3 on penalties)

3rd/4th place play-off:
Italy 2-1 England

World Cup Final:
West Germany 1-0 Argentina

BBC News
Argentine penalties knock Italy of the tournament [1'00'']
BBC News
Bobby Robson: "An awful way to lose" [46'']
BBC News
Who could forget Pavarotti's rendition of 'Nesse Dorma' [1'11'']
BBC News
A penalty decides the final [55'']
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites.
World Cup History
Full Story
Results and Tables
Motty's Memories
Commentator looks back
Hansen's Legends
Six great players
Classic matches and marvellous memories

© BBC ^ Back to top

Front Page | Statistics | Team Pages | Features | Other News | Sports Talk | TV/Radio Coverage | Photo Galleries | Venues Guide | Matches Wallchart | World Cup Greats | History | Quiz

BBC Sport >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
BBC World Service >> | BBC Radio Five Live >>
© MMII | News Sources | Privacy