Skip to main content
Graphics version
World Cup | Fixtures & Results | Tables & Averages | Team Pages | History | Have Your Say | Test Match Special
Tuesday, 4 March, 2003, 12:52 GMT

Zimbabwe through after wash-out

Group A, Bulawayo: Pakistan 73-3 (14 overs) v Zimbabwe. Match abandoned due to rain - points shared

Zimbabwe were gifted a Super Six berth after downpours in Bulawayo forced their crucial match against Pakistan to be abandoned.

The no result saw points shared, meaning Zimbabwe qualify ahead of England.

The co-hosts finished the group phase in third place, two points in front of England.

The result also snuffed out the slim hopes of Pakistan.

Just 10 balls were managed before rain forced a second delay (after the start was delayed by 75 minutes), but it was all Zimbabwe needed to make a breakthrough.

Saleem Elahi, two balls after driving Douglas Hondo for four, shuffled across his stumps and was adjudged leg before.


But before Yousuf Youhana could replace his team-mate at the crease, the rains came again.

A 45-minute delay ensued, after which Saeed Anwar and Youhana set about swinging in the rain that was still drizzling lightly.

An Anwar six off Hondo over extra cover highlighted a spurt which took Pakistan along to 41 for one after nine overs and a ball.

But another downpour, this time accompanied by gusting winds, halted play for 80 minutes.

Youhana fell in the second over back, flailing outside off-stump and edging behind for 17.

A torrential deluge was soon to hit but not before Inzamam-ul-Haq holed out in the deep for three, bringing his stormy World Cup to a sad close.

Anwar was dropped either side of Inazmam's dismissal, surviving to the third rain break unbeaten on 40.

The covers were then twice removed only to be replaced, and the match was called off at 1245 GMT.

Zimbabwe: DD Ebrahim, CB Wishart, A Flower, GW Flower, GJ Whittall, T Taibu, AM Blignaut, HH Streak (capt), DA Marillier, SM Ervine, Douglas T Hondo.

Pakistan: Saeed Anwar, Saleem Elahi, Azhar Mahmood, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Rashid Latif, Mohammad Sami, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis (capt), Shoaib Akhtar.

Umpires: BF Bowden, EAR de Silva.

Email this story to a friend

Zimbabwe Cricket
Pakistan Cricket
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites
^ Back to top | BBC Sport Home | BBCi Homepage | Feedback |