banner watch listen bbc sport watch listen
Skip to main content Text Only version of this page
Where I Live
A-Z Index
| Help
Last Updated:  Saturday, 15 February, 2003, 12:18 GMT

Australia v India: over by over

Australia 128-1 (22.2 overs) beat India 125 all out (41.4 overs) by nine wickets

Australia eased to a nine-wicket victory against India, reaching their victory target of 126 in the 23rd over.

Earlier, India were dismissed for their lowest World Cup score with Australia's pace bowlers sharing the honours in a fine display at Centurion.

23rd over: Ponting cuts for four to seal an easy win for Australia.

22nd over: Australia are just two runs away from victory after the batsmen pick singles off Kumble.

21st over: Four more as the Aussie skipper beats mid-on.

20th over: Ponting hits another boundary, viciously cutting Kumble through the covers.

19th over: Captain Ponting hits his first four since replacing Gilchrist.

18th over: India finally get their first wicket as Gilchrist is stumped by Rahul Dravid at the second attempt. Australia: 100-1

17th over: Gilchrist heaves to deep mid-wicket for three.

16th over: Three more runs from Australia's openers keep up the pressure.

15th over: Two fours for Gilchrist see Australia close in on their total.

14th over: Gilchrist grabs a four off Kumble's delivery with a beautifully struck shot to long on.

13th over: Hayden lifts Harbhajan high into the mid-wicket stands for his second six.

11th over: It is 27 apiece for Australia's batsmen as the reigning champions reach 64 for no loss.

10th over: A good start as India's other spin bowler, Anil Kumble, also concedes jonly a single.

9th over: India's first over of spin is a success as Harbhajan Singh concedes just one run.

8th over: Australia's opening pair move past the 50-run mark with some brilliant batting.

7th over: Hayden gets his first six, hitting the ball straight back over Srinath's head to pass the 2000-run mark in one-day international cricket.

6th over: Australia are cruising comfortably to their target with Gilchrist driving through the covers for four.

5th over: Hayden chips over Srinath's head for three runs.

4th over: Hayden punches the ball down the ground for his first boundary.

3rd over: Gilchrist tucks Srinath away for two runs.

2nd over: Zaheer Khan shares the new ball with Srinath as Australia grab another four runs.

1st over: Adam Gilchrist and Matthew Hayden begin the chase for an easy target of 126, needing a run rate of just 2.75 an over. Javagal Srinath opens the Indian attack but cannot stop nine runs coming from the over.


42nd over: India are all out for their lowest World Cup score as Lehmann runs out Srinath. India: 125 all out

41st over: Zaheer makes just one before falling leg before to Lehmann. India: 125-9

40th over: More concentrated stuff from Hogg sees just three runs come off his over.

39th over: Lehmann limps through his over after seemingly hurting himself in a fall while attempting to field.

38th over: Harbhajan plays back to Hogg and is hit on the pads directly in front of his stumps. India: 120-8

37th over: Lehmann races through his over, conceding three runs in the process.

36th over: Harbhajan lashes out at Hogg, hitting successive boundaries and taking 10 off the over.

35th over: Lehmann comes on for Lee as Australia opt for spin at both ends to speed up their slow over-rate.

34th over: Left-arm spinner Hogg replaces Gillespie, beating the outside edge of Kumble's bat with a first ball wrong 'un.

33rd over: Kumble brings up India's 100 with a glanced boundary off a wayward Lee.

32nd over: Gillespie's wonderful spell comes to an end, returning figures of 10-2-13-3.

31st over: Harbhajan top-edges Lee for four then cuts wildly for a magnificent six next ball.

30th over: Gillespie continues into his ninth over, searching for his fourth wicket.

29th over: Mongia becomes the Lee's third victim as Symonds pulls off a stunning catch at short extra cover. India: 80-7

28th over: Gillespie takes the prize wicket of Tendulkar, who is fooled by a slower delivery and is lbw. India: 78-6

26th over: Just one run off the over as the Indian run-rate continues to look painfully sluggish.

25th over: A better over from India sees another four runs added to their total.

23rd over: Tendulkar and Mongia take a run apiece from Symonds.

22nd over: Another good over by Gillespie sees India snatch just two runs.

21st over: Mongia provides a rare bright spot for India, pulling Symonds in front of square for four.

20th over: Tendulkar works Gillespie away behind square on the legside for a single.

19th over: New batsman Dinesh Mongia gets off the mark with a flick just in front of square on the leg side for two runs.

18th over: Symonds, running forward from his position on the square leg fence, catches Mohammad Kaif to give Gillespie his second wicket. India: 50-5

17th over: Australia's batting hero against Pakistan, Andrew Symonds, takes up the attack, conceding just three runs.

15th over: McGrath gets his first wicket as umpire Asoka De Silva gives an lbw against Yuvraj Singh. India: 45-4

14th over: Jason Gillespie grabs a wicket with his first ball as a short delivery is edged into his stumps by Dravid. India: 44-3.

13th over: McGrath makes it three maidens in a row as India are becalmed.

12th over: Another good over from Lee sees India struggling to keep up the run-rate.

11th over: Back-to-back maidens from McGrath deny Tendulkar and Dravid.

10th over: Dravid has a slice of luck when he is dropped by Damien Martyn in the slips.

9th over: McGrath completes a maiden with a typically stingy line and length.

8th over: Another scalp for Lee as Sehwag edges into the hands of wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist. India: 41-2

7th over: Two boundaries from Tendulkar lifts India's run-rate.

6th over: Ganguly is caught behind by Adam Gilchrist after edging a Lee delivery. India: 22-1

5th over: Ganguly claims his first boundary with a deflection to the third man fence.

4th over: The Indians keep on the pressure with Ganguly grabbing a single.

3rd over: The crowd at Centurion get behind India, going wild as the sub-continent side snatch another two runs.

2nd over: Australia give Brett Lee the new ball, but Tendulkar is off the mark with a cheeky single.

1st over: India get off to a good start with captain Sourav Ganguly claiming two runs off Glenn McGrath's first ball.

0736: India have won the toss and elected to bat against Australia.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Damien Martyn, Darren Lehmann, Michael Bevan, Andrew Symonds, Jason Gillespie, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath.

India: Sourav Ganguly (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Dinesh Mongia, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan.

Umpires: David Shepherd (Eng) and Asoka De Silva (Sri)
TV umpire: Brian Jerling (Rsa)
Match referee: Clive Lloyd (WIs)

Australia v India photos
14 Feb 03 |  Photo Galleries
Full scorecard
17 Feb 03 |  World Cup
Have Your Say on Australia
04 Jan 03 |  Have Your Say
Have Your Say on India
04 Jan 03 |  Have Your Say

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily e-mail | Sport on mobiles/PDAs

Back to top

World Cup | Fixtures & Results | Scorecards | Tables & Averages | Team Pages | History
Have Your Say | Photo Galleries | Test Match Special
Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales
BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us