banner watch listen bbc sport watch listen
Skip to main content Text Only version of this page
Where I Live
A-Z Index
| Help
BBC News
BBC Weather
BBC Sport Academy
Last Updated:  Thursday, 6 February, 2003, 14:20 GMT
Sri Lanka overwhelm Free State
World Cup warm-up match, Bloemfontein: Sri Lanka 183-5 (38.2 overs) beat Free State 182-7 (50 overs) by five wickets

Russel Arnold
Arnold took two wickets and then led Sri Lanka to victory

Sri Lanka recovered from 77 for four before ultimately coasting to victory against Free State.

The Sri Lankans had been set an easily attainable 183 for victory after Pulasthi Gunaratne and Russel Arnold led their bowling attack with two wickets apiece.

Free State's Johannes van der Wath had the opposition wobbling when he grabbed the wickets of opener Sanath Jayasuriya and Hashan Tillakaratne in quick succession.

But Arnold brought his bowling form into his batting, steering his side to the win with Mahela Jayawardene on an unbeaten 58.

Morne van Wyk and Jonathan Beukes looked on course to set a big total for Free State when they posted 92 for the first wicket.

However, Van Wyk, having scored 46 including five fours and a six, became Arnold's first victim, caught by Dihan Gunawardene and with the fall of the opening partnership Free State's innings collapsed.

Johannes van der Wath was the next back in the pavilion in the following over after being Muttiah Muralitharan trapped him lbw.

Beukes and Tshabalala followed shortly afterwards to leave Free State languishing on 115 for four.

Gerhardus Liebenberg and James Schorn added a painfully slow 38 runs in the next 15 overs to stop the fall of wickets.

After Schorn became Gunaratne's first victim in the 44th over with the scores at 153, Free State lifted their tempo to leave the Sri Lankans chasing 183 for the win.

Free State: MN van Wyk, JA Beukes, JJ van der Wath, ST Tshabalala, GFJ Liebenberg, JR Schorn, R McLaren, H Bakkes , D Pretorius, A Abrahams, PV Mpitsang.

Sri Lanka: ST Jayasuriya, DA Gunawardene, HP Tillakaratne, PA de Silva, DPMD Jayawardene, KC Sangakkara, TCB Fernando, PW Gunaratne, RP Arnold, M Muralitharan, RAP Nissanka

Links to more Sri Lanka stories


Sri Lanka race to victory
04 Feb 03 |  Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka happy to repay Kenya
02 Feb 03 |  Sri Lanka
Murali targets opening game
30 Jan 03 |  Sri Lanka

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Daily e-mail | Sport on mobiles/PDAs

Back to top

World Cup | Fixtures & Results | Scorecards | Tables & Averages | Team Pages | History | Have Your Say Photo Galleries | Test Match Special
Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales
BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us