BBC Home > BBC Sport > Commonwealth Games

Commonwealth Games 2010: Aussies thrash India for gold

14 October 10 08:44 GMT

Jason Wilson and Luke Doerner each scored twice as Australia thrashed India 8-0 to win gold in the men's hockey at the Commonwealth Games.

Chris Ciriello, Simon Orchard, Jamie Dwyer and Glenn Turner also hit the target as the hosts were outclassed.

It is Australia's fourth successive Commonwealth gold medal in the event.

Earlier, the battle for bronze saw European champions England beaten 5-3 on penalty strokes after they drew 3-3 with New Zealand after extra-time.

Australia's victory means they had a 100% record throughout the group and knockout stages.

India Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was among the 19,000 capacity crowd at the MDC Stadium to witness the home side's defeat.

Share this

Related BBC sites