Scotland Wales Northern Ireland

You are in: You are in: Wales  
Front Page 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Monday, 12 November, 2001, 13:23 GMT
Henson wins top award
Gavin Henson has added to his growing reputation
Gavin Henson has added to his growing reputation
Click here for a list of winners

Gavin Henson has continued his rise to prominence by being voted the International Rugby Board's young player of the year.

Henson is currently out of action with a foot injury, but hopes to add to his two Welsh caps when fit.

The 19-year-old Swansea star was at the star-studded event where Ireland's Keith Wood won the player of the year award.

Wood's fellow countryman Brian O'Driscoll, England fly-half Jonny Wilkinson and Australia's George Gregan and George Smith were the other finalists.

Gavin Henson with his IRB award
Gavin Henson with his IRB award
The world champions Australia were selected as team of the year, after their series win against the Lions and success in the Tri-Nations.

New Zealand claimed the sevens team of the year award, the All Blacks defended their world title by winning six of the nine tournaments on the IRB's circuit.

World Cup-winning Wallabies skipper John Eales, who retired after the Tri-Nations, picked up a special chairman's award from IRB chief Vernon Pugh.

The winners were decided by a panel of 10 judges made up of former players from around the world.

Full list of winners

  • International Player of the Year: Keith Wood (Ireland)
  • International Team of the Year: Australia
  • International Coach of the Year: Rod Macqueen (Australia)
  • International Young Player of the Year: Gavin Henson (Wales)
  • International Women's Player of the Year: Shelley Rae (England)
  • Referee Award for Distinguished Service: Ed Morrison (England)
  • Spirit of Rugby Award: Tim Grandadge (India)
  • Chairman's Awards: Kath McLean (East Coast Province, New Zealand), Sir Terry McLean (New Zealand), Albert Farasse (France), John Eales (Australia)
  • Development Awards: Uruguay - for work done in the development of a new national stadium, Jorge Brasceras (Argentina) for coaching, training and development.
  • IRB Distinguished Service Award: Tom Kiernan (Ireland)

    Back to top

  • See also:

    12 Nov 01 |  Rugby Union
    Henry won't back down
    11 Nov 01 |  Rugby Union
    Broken thumb rules Herbert out
    11 Nov 01 |  Rugby Union
    Harris wants another chance
    Links to more Wales stories are at the foot of the page.


    E-mail this story to a friend

    Links to more Wales stories

    ^^ Back to top