Scotland Wales Northern Ireland

You are in: You are in: Wales  
Front Page 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Thursday, 4 October, 2001, 13:00 GMT 14:00 UK
Merv the Swerve joins Fame list
Mervyn Davies played for Wales on 38 occasions
Mervyn Davies played for Wales on 38 occasions
Mervyn Davies is the latest Welshman to be inducted into the International Rugby Hall of Fame.

The former Wales captain will be honoured at the Hilton Hotel, London, as part of a further 10 names added to the current 25-strong list.

Davies, who was affectionately known as 'Merv the Swerve' won 38 caps for his country and becomes the seventh Welshman honoured - more than any other nation.

Also included in the latest group are Australians David Campese, Ken Catchpole and Michael Lynagh, as well as BBC commentator Bill McLaren.

They will be honoured at an awards ceremony on 23 November.

The first XV were inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1999, and a further 10 two years later.

The process of election to the Hall of Fame begins with a 30-strong international screening committee that provides a short list of worthy names to be honoured.

This list is distributed to the Trustees, one from each major rugby nation, chaired by Cliff Morgan, who then vote on the short-listed candidates.

Hall of Fame members: 1997: Serge Blanco (France), Danie Craven (South Africa), Frik du Preez (South Africa), Gareth Edwards (Wales), Mark Ella (Australia), Mike Gibson (Ireland) , Barry John (Wales), Willie John McBride (Ireland), Colin Meads (New Zealand), Cliff Morgan (Wales), George Nepia (New Zealand), Tony O'Reilly (Ireland), Hugo Porta (Argentina), Jean-Pierre Rives (France) J P R Williams (Wales).

1999: Gerald Davies (Wales), Andy Irvine (Scotland), Nick Farr-Jones (Australia), Carwyn James (Wales), Jack Kyle (Ireland), Brian Lochore (New Zealand), Morne du Plessis (South Africa), Phillippe Sella (France), Wavell Wakefield (England), Wilson Whineray (New Zealand).

2001: Gordon Brown (Scotland), David Campese (Australia), Ken Catchpole (Australia), Don Clarke (New Zealand), Mervyn Davies (Wales), Sean Fitzpatrick (New Zealand), Michael Lynagh (Australia), Bill McLaren (Scotland), Hennie Muller (South Africa), Jean Prat (France).

Links to more Wales stories are at the foot of the page.


E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Wales stories

^^ Back to top