BBC Sport sportspersonality

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 19:11 GMT, Monday, 29 November 2010

BBC unveils Sports Personality of the Year 2010 top 10

BBC Sports Personality of the Year trail

Sports Personality of the Year
Venue: Birmingham LG Arena Date: Sunday, 19 December Time: 1900 GMT Coverage: Live on BBC One, BBC Radio 5 Live & BBC Sport website.

We will be dedicating a day to one of the top 10 contenders from 6-17 December (in alphabetical order).

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year top-10 shortlist has been revealed.

It features jockey AP McCoy, golfers Lee Westwood and Graeme McDowell, darts legend Phil Taylor and diver Tom Daley.

Winter Olympic gold medallist Amy Williams is also included, along with heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis and England cricketer Graeme Swann.

Boxing's world heavyweight champion David Haye and cycling sprint sensation Mark Cavendish make up the top 10 contenders for 2010.

The nominees will be put to a public vote on the night of the live show, which will be broadcast from the LG Arena in Birmingham at 1900 GMT, Sunday 19 December on BBC One.


The public will be able to choose who they want to see crowned BBC Sports Personality of the Year by telephone and details of the numbers to phone will be given out during the programme, which will be presented by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Jake Humphrey.

Before the big event there will be an Inside Sport preview show on Monday 13 December at 2305 GMT.

All the contenders made a big impact this year.

Cavendish features in the top 10 for the second year running after winning five stages of the Tour de France and following that feat by winning the points jersey at the Tour of Spain.


Daley added to his already bulging medal collection with two golds at the Commonwealth Games in Delhi, while Ennis won heptathlon gold after dominating at the European Championships in Barcelona.

It proved to be another knockout year for 'The Hayemaker' Haye who successfully defended his world heavyweight title twice, against John Ruiz and Audley Harrison.

McCoy, who was ridden more winners than any jump jockey in history, finally won the Grand National at the 15th attempt on Don't Push It.

McDowell became Europe's first US Open champion for 40 years when he clinched his maiden major title at Pebble Beach, while fellow golfer Westwood capped a superb 2010 by becoming the world number one, replacing Tiger Woods at the top of the rankings.

In cricket, England's spin master Swann enjoyed another great year, playing a pivotal role in series wins against Bangladesh and Pakistan and the World Twenty20 triumph over Australia.

Taylor became a 15-time world champion in January and his fine form continued as he won six major titles including the Premier League and World Matchplay crowns.

Meanwhile, Williams became a national star overnight after winning Britain's first individual Winter Olympics gold medal for 30 years with victory in the women's skeleton.

The shortlist was put together by a panel of 30 sports editors from national and regional newspapers and magazines.

In last year's event at the Sheffield Arena, Manchester United legend Ryan Giggs beat former Formula One world champion Jenson Button and heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis to the honour.

The other awards to be presented on the night will include:

- Team of the Year

- Coach of the Year

- Overseas Personality

- Young Personality

- Helen Rollason Award

- Unsung Hero Award

- Lifetime Achievement

Watch a full preview of this year's top 10 on Sports Personality of the Year: The Contenders, BBC One, Monday 13 December at 2305 GMT

see also
SPOTY top 10: Mark Cavendish
16 Dec 10 |  Sports Personality
SPOTY top 10: Tom Daley
16 Dec 10 |  Sports Personality
SPOTY top 10: Jessica Ennis
29 Nov 10 |  Sports Personality
SPOTY top 10: David Haye
17 Dec 10 |  Sports Personality
SPOTY top 10: AP McCoy
16 Dec 10 |  Sports Personality
SPOTY top 10: Graeme McDowell
29 Nov 10 |  Sports Personality
SPOTY top 10: Graeme Swann
29 Nov 10 |  Sports Personality
SPOTY top 10: Phil Taylor
16 Dec 10 |  Sports Personality
SPOTY top 10: Lee Westwood
29 Nov 10 |  Sports Personality
SPOTY top 10: Amy Williams
16 Dec 10 |  Sports Personality
2010 BBC Sports Personality - How they voted
29 Nov 10 |  Sports Personality
Sports Personality ticket details
13 Dec 10 |  Sports Personality
Birmingham to host BBC award show
18 May 10 |  Sports Personality
SPOTY Voting & Judging: Terms & conditions
16 Dec 10 |  Sports Personality
Giggs named Sports Personality 2009
13 Dec 09 |  Sports Personality


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.