BBC Sport sportspersonality

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 10:07 GMT, Wednesday, 24 November 2010

BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year 2010

BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year 2010

Newsround's Ore Oduba launches BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year 2010

*Nominations have now closed and the top 10 contenders for the Young Sports Personality of the Year award will be announced on CBBC Newsround on BBC One on Friday, 26 November at 1700 GMT.

A full list of the YSPOTY contenders will also be available on the BBC Sport website.*

The 2010 BBC Sports Personality of the Year event is once again on the lookout for outstanding young sporting talent with the support of the Youth Sport Trust.

Could someone you know follow in the footsteps of Wayne Rooney, Andy Murray, Tom Daley and Ellie Simmonds to win the prestigious Young Sports Personality of the Year award?

To be eligible, the young sportsperson must have been aged 16 or under on 1 January 2010. They must be British, or meet all three of the following criteria:

- They play a significant amount of their sport in the UK

2001 Amy Spencer, Athletics
2002 Wayne Rooney, Football
2003 Kate Haywood, Swimming
2004 Andy Murray, Tennis
2005 Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Athletics
2006 Theo Walcott, Football
2007 Tom Daley, Diving
2008 Eleanor Simmonds, Swimming
2009 Tom Daley, Diving

- Their core achievements this year were achieved in the UK, and not with a national team

- They are residents in the UK

Nominations must be returned by Monday 15 November.

A panel, chaired by BBC Sport's John Inverdale, will meet to choose the top 10 contenders on Friday 26 November 2010 from the list of nominations collected by the Youth Sport Trust and the BBC.

Also on the panel are Jake Humphrey (BBC Sport), Helen Skelton (Blue Peter presenter), Ore Oduba (Newsround/Sportsround presenter), Amy Spencer and Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (former YSPOTY winners), two representatives from BBC Sports Personality of the Year, and two representatives from the Youth Sport Trust.

The panel will reconvene in early December to select the top three and the winner from the top 10 list. The top three and the winner will be selected by secret ballot.

Daley wins Young Sports Personality 2009

The top three will be invited to the live event and the other seven contenders will be notified out of courtesy that they have not made the final shortlist.

The winner will be announced live on BBC Sports Personality of the Year, on BBC One on Sunday 19 December 2010. The show will also be live on BBC Radio 5 live and the BBC Sport website.

So if you know a budding Theo Walcott or Tom Daley, click on the link below and put them forward.

see also
BBC Young SPOTY 2010 - Terms and Conditions
08 Oct 10 |  Sports Personality
Sports Personality ticket details
13 Dec 10 |  Sports Personality
Daley wins second Young BBC award
13 Dec 09 |  Sports Personality
Daley wins 2009 Young Sports Personality
13 Dec 09 |  Sports Personality
Hat-trick for Tom?
08 Oct 10 |  Student reports
Simmonds shares her swimming success stories
11 Oct 10 |  School Report
2009 BBC Young Sports Personality: The top 10
10 Nov 09 |  Sports Personality

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites