Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Monday, 28 July, 2003, 12:55 GMT 13:55 UK
Wales' regional teams
Wales' regional squads
Wales' five new regional teams have taken shape for next season, with all the sides now officially launched.

Players are still involved in transfer talks, so keep an eye on this page for the up-to-date squad lists.

Swansea and Neath
Team name
Neath-Swansea Ospreys
Full-backs: Gareth Swales, Adrian Durston, Matthew Jones
Three-quarters: Scott Gibbs, Gareth Morris, Matthew Brayley, James Storey, Dave Tiueti, Elvis Seveali'i (from Bath)
Fly-halves: Gavin Henson, Shaun Connor, Rob Sweeney
Scrum-halves: Shane Williams, Andy Williams (from Bath), Ricky Richards
Props: Duncan Jones, Adam Jones, Paul James, Andrew Millward, Cai Griffiths
Hookers: Barry Williams, Huw Bennett, Chris Wells
Locks: Gareth Llewellyn, Jon Thomas, Andy Newman, Lyndon Bateman, Luke Tait
Back rows: Steve Tandy, Nathan Bonner-Evans, James Bater, Richard Pugh, Gavin Thomas (from Bath)

Transfer stories
Players available for draft: Richard Rees, Matthew Robinson, Arwel Thomas (to Pau), Patrick Horgan, Rhodri Jones (to Gwent Dragons), Andy Moore, Darren Morris (to Leicester), Colin Charvis, Dean Thomas (to Worcester), Brett Sinkinson, Alfie Mocelutu (to Tarbes), Hywel Jenkins

Captain: Scott Gibbs
Coach: Lyn Jones
Assistant coach: Sean Holley
Conditioning coach: Huw Bevan
Team colours: Black and white
Premier League team coaches: Tony Clement (Swansea), Rowland Phillips (Neath)
Academy coach: Garin Jenkins
Performance analyst: Peter Hall
Community development manager: John Schropfer
Senior development officer: Dai Arthur
Grounds: St Helen's and the Gnoll

Bridgend and Pontypridd
Team name
Celtic Warriors
Full-backs: Gareth Wyatt, Kevin Morgan
Three-quarters: Aisea Havili, Gareth Thomas, Dafydd James, Sonny Parker, Jon Bryant, David Bishop (development contract), Matthew Nutthall (development contract)
Fly-halves: Ceri Sweeney, Neil Jenkins
Scrum-halves: Paul John, Sililo Martens, Gareth Cooper (from Bath)
Props: Gethin Jenkins, Phil Booth, Martin Jones, Chris Horsman, Geraint Morris (development contract)
Hookers: Mefin Davies, Andrew Joy, Matthew Rees
Locks: Robert Sidoli, Brent Cockbain, Deiniol Jones, Ryan Jones
Back rows: Nick Kelly, Richard Parks, Maama Molitika, Nathan Budgett, Richard Bryan, Cory Harris, Mark Lewis (development contract)

Supplementary list to provide cover during World Cup includes:
Richard Fussell, Emyr Lewis, Lee Thomas, Shaun James, Tommy Walsh, Gerald Cox, Duane Goodfield, Ian Evans, Jonathan Edwards

Transfer stories
Players available for draft: Huw Harries, Gareth Cull, Emyr Lewis, Shaun James, Richard Mustoe, Anthony Carter, Gareth Baber, Chris Loader (to Rotherham), Neil Hennessey (to Doncaster), Geraint Lewis, Wayne O'Connor

Captain: Gareth Thomas
Coach: Lynn Howells
Assistant coach: Allan Lewis
Team colours: Blue, black, white and red
Premier League team coaches: Steele Lewis and Justin Burnell (Pontypridd), Richard Webster (Bridgend)
Chief Executive: Leighton Samuel
Director of rugby development: Clive Jones
Conditioning coach: Nick Johnston
Physiotherapist: Tim Atter
Marketing and media: John Samuel
Commercial executive: Emma Rogers
Team administrator: Christine Banfield
Academy coach: Justin Burnell
Acadmey conditioning coach: Steve Richards
Grounds: Brewery Field and Sardis Road

Newport and Ebbw Vale
Team name
Newport Gwent Dragons
Full-backs: Richard Davies, Percy Montgomery, Brett Davey
Three-quarters: Hal Luscombe, Kevin James, Andy Marinos, Steve Winn, Nathan Brew, Ben Breeze, Gerald Arasa, Rhys Shorney
Fly-halves: Lee Jarvis, Craig Warlow
Scrum-halves: Gareth Baber, Rhodri Jones (from Swansea), Bryan Shelbourne
Props: Rod Snow, Adam Black, Chris Anthony, Rhys Thomas, Dai Pattison
Hookers: Paul Young, Steve Jones, Keiron Crawford
Locks: Peter Sidoli, Ian Gough, Michael Owen, Martin Morgan, Neil Edwards, Luke Charteris
Back rows: Rhys Williams, Jamie Ringer, Jason Forster, Shawn van Rensburg, Rhys Oakley (from Bristol), Ross Beattie (from Bristol)

Transfer stories
Players available for draft: Matt Mostyn (to Connacht), Jon Pritchard (to Rotherham), Jason Jones-Hughes (to Munster), Jason Strange (to Rotherham), David Llewellyn, Ceri Jones (to Harlequins), Paul Jones, Mike Voyle, Chay Billen (to Newport), Ockert Booyse, Paul Williams, Matt Veater, Will Thomas (to Cross Keys), Andrew Powell (to Beziers)

Captain: Andy Marinos
Coach: Mike Ruddock
Assistant coach: Clive Griffiths
Team colours: Black and red
Premier League team coaches: Gareth Nicholas (Ebbw Vale), Darryl Jones (Newport)
Chief Executive: David Jenkins
Ground: Rodney Parade

Team name
Llanelli Scarlets
Full-backs: Barry Davies, Garan Evans, Lee Byrne (development contract)
Three-quarters: Mark Jones, Matthew Watkins, Leigh Davies, Mark Taylor, Salesi Finau, Tal Selley
Fly-halves: Stephen Jones, Gareth Bowen
Scrum-halves: Dwayne Peel, Mike Phillips, Dale Burn
Props: John Davies, Iestyn Thomas, Martyn Madden, Phil John
Hookers: Robin McBryde, Aled Gravell
Locks: Chris Wyatt, Vernon Cooper, Adam Jones, James Griffiths, Emyr Lewis (from Cardiff), Bryn Griffiths (development contract)
Back rows: Dafydd Jones, Dave Hodges, Scott Quinnell, Simon Easterby, Gareth Williams (development contract)

Supplementary list to provide cover during World Cup includes:
Rhys Williams, Ceirion Thomas, Gareth Wright, David Maddox, Ian Boobyer, Gavin Evans, Adam Yelland

Transfer stories
Players available for draft: Matt Cardey (to Leeds), Delme Williams, Neil Boobyer (to Bridgend), Guy Easterby (to Rotherham), Marcus Thomas (to Dunvant), Paul Clapham, Luke Gross (to Rotherham), Ian Boobyer, Jamie Cudmore

Captain: Leigh Davies
Coach: Gareth Jenkins
Assistant coaches: Nigel Davies, Paul Moriarty
Team colours: Scarlet and white
Chief Executive: Stuart Gallacher
Grounds: Stradey Park (Llanelli), Racecourse (Wrexham)

Team name
Cardiff Blues
Full-backs: Rhys Williams, Donavan van Vuuren
Three-quarters: Nick Walne, Dean Dewdney, Craig Morgan, Pieter Muller, Jamie Robinson, Tom Shanklin (from Saracens), Matt Allen, Jon Vaughton (development contract)
Fly-halves: Iestyn Harris, Nicky Robinson
Scrum-halves: Ryan Powell, Richard Smith, Andy Moore
Props: Ben Evans, John Yapp (development contract), Ken Fourie, Darren Crompton
Hookers: Andrew Lewis, Gareth Williams, T Rhys Thomas
Locks: Heino Senekal, Craig Quinnell, Andy Moore
Back rows: Martyn Williams, Dan Baugh, Jim Brownrigg, Robin Sowden-Taylor, Dan McShane, Nathan Thomas (from Bath)

Transfer stories
Players available for draft: Anthony Sullivan, Spencer John, Gary Powell (to Leeds), Peter Rogers (to Roma), Tim Payne (to Wasps), Greg Woods, Adam Jones, John Tait (to Brive), Chris Stamatakis, Emyr Lewis (to Llanelli Scarlets), Rob Appleyard

Captain: Martyn Williams
Coach: Dai Young
Assistant coach: Geraint John
Team colours: White, blue and black
Chief Executive: Robert Norster
Squad manager: Derwyn Jones
Conditioning coach: Huw Wiltshire
Skills coach: Mark Ring (tbc)
Physiotherapist: Jane James
Notational analyst: Rhodri Manning
Academy co-ordinator: Mike Rayer
Premier League team coaches: Mike Rayer, Howard Stone
Premier League conditioning coach: Tristan Bevan
Ground: Arms Park

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport