BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 22:11 GMT, Friday, 28 January 2011

Scotland A 32-12 Ireland Wolfhounds

Johnnie Beattie and Tomas O'Leary
Johnnie Beattie was one of several senior players in the Scotland A line-up

Scotland A triumphed against Irish Wolfhounds at Netherdale.

Willie Faloon's try helped the visitors into a deserved 13-9 lead at the break, Ian Humphreys and Scotland's David Blair both registering penalties.

Moray Low crossed the line to give the Scots the edge after the interval and Blair and Greig Laidlaw kept the score ticking over with penalties.

And Hefin O'Hare put the seal on Scotland's victory with a last-minute try from Fraser McKenzie's pass.

With top team coach Andy Robinson watching from the stands, several of the Scottish players were looking to impress ahead of the upcoming Six Nations campaign and, after an early Ireland infringement, Blair kicked the hosts ahead.

But the Irish response was determined and Johne Murphy played in flanker Faloon, who looked destined to touch down before O'Hare made a last-ditch tackle.

Undeterred, Ireland recycled smartly and Faloon claimed the opening try, Humphreys converting.

A Blair penalty either side of two more successful kicks by Humphreys meant a four-point advantage for the Irish at the turnaround.

Low was introduced in place of Jon Welsh, who was withdrawn as a precaution, and though Blair missed his next penalty attempt, it was not long before Scotland regained the lead.

After opting to put a kickable penalty into touch, the Scots pressurised and Low crashed over from the drive, then Blair converted.

Blair and captain Laidlaw stretched the advantage with penalties.

And O'Hare added another touch-down, allowing Blair to complete the scoring with the conversion.

Scotland A: Jim Thompson; Hefin O'Hare, Ben Cairns, John Houston, Lee Jones; David Blair, Greig Laidlaw (capt); Jon Welsh, Dougie Hall, Geoff Cross, Scott MacLeod, Fraser McKenzie, Ryan Wilson, Johnnie Beattie, Alan MacDonald.

Replacements: Fergus Thomson, Moray Low, Rob Harley, Roddy Grant, Colin Gregor, Peter Murchie, Colin Shaw.

Ireland Wolfhounds: Gavin Duffy; Johne Murphy, Eoin O'Malley, Nevin Spence, Denis Hurley; Ian Humphreys, Tomas O'Leary; Brett Wilkinson, Damien Varley; Tony Buckley, Ian Nagle, Devin Toner, Kevin McLaughlin, Willie Faloon, Chris Henry (capt).

Replacements: Nigel Brady, Jamie Hagan, Andrew Browne, Dominic Ryan, Isaac Boss, Niall O'Connor, Ian Whitten.

Print Sponsor

see also
Scotland aim high in Six Nations
26 Jan 11 |  Scottish
Kellock given Scotland captaincy
25 Jan 11 |  Scottish
Paterson hungry for Scots return
21 Jan 11 |  Scottish
Robinson adds new faces to squad
19 Jan 11 |  Scottish
Glasgow gaffe hits Beattie return
13 Jan 11 |  Scottish

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.