BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 21:42 GMT, Friday, 20 November 2009

Scotland A 38-7 Tonga

Scotland (14) 38 Try: Laidlaw, Thompson, Cairns, Southwell, Robertson Con: Thompson 3, Gregor 2 Pen: Thompson
Tonga (0) 7 Try: Fatafehi Con: Morath

Nikki Walker is tackled by Tonga's Manu Ahotaeiloa
Nikki Walker is tackled by Tonga's Manu Ahotaeiloa

Scotland A ran in five tries to ease to victory against Tonga in front of a crowd of 4,000 in Galashiels.

Edinburgh's Greig Laidlaw ran over for an early try and Jim Thompson kicked the first of three conversions as well as scoring a try and a penalty.

Hugo Southwell impressed at stand-off and along with Ben Cairns and Mark Robertson scored a second-half try.

The Tongans posed a formidable physical challenge but their only try came from Alipate Fatafehi late in the match.

Scotland coach Andy Robinson was in attendance at Netherdale to watch Sean Lineen's side, full of internationals, move into a fourth-minute lead, Laidlaw giving Scotland A an early five-point advantage.

The left boot of Edinburgh's Thompson was an effective weapon for the Scots as he converted Laidlaw's try then his own in the 33rd minutes to give the home side a 14-0 half-time lead.

And it was the Scotland number 15 who booted a penalty between the posts at the start of the second half to extend the lead over the Tongans, who lost 48-19 to Ireland A last week.

A clever run and pass by Edinburgh's Robertson set up his club team-mate Cairns to score Scotland's third try.

They turned the screw on the visitors with further scores from Southwell, then at full-back, and Robertson under the posts to make the margin 36-0.

Glasgow Warriors' Colin Gregor scored the second of his conversions with just a few minutes remaining, yet Tonga hit back through a Fatafehi try and a Kurt Morath conversion.

Scotland A: Jim Thompson (Edinburgh), Thom Evans (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Cairns (Edinburgh), John Houston (Edinburgh), Nikki Walker (Ospreys), Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), Scott MacLeod (Edinburgh), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh), Allister Hogg (Edinburgh)
Replacements: Andrew Kelly (Edinburgh), Ed Kalman (Glasgow Warriors), Craig Hamilton (Edinburgh), Roddy Grant (Edinburgh), Colin Gregor (Glasgow Warriors), Mark Robertson (Edinburgh), Mark McMillan (Glasgow Warriors)

Tonga: Filimone Lilo, Hola, Hufanga, Vaka, Ahota'e'iloa, Morath, Fangupo, Taula, Hafu, Moala, Paino Hehea, Kauhenga, Filo, Fono, Vahafolau
Replacements: Vaiomounga, Fakalelu, Faaoso, Fonua, Fatafehi

Referee: A Lewis (Ireland)

Attendance: 3,976

Print Sponsor

see also
Scots unchanged for Aussie clash
17 Nov 09 |  Scottish
Mixed feelings for coach Robinson
14 Nov 09 |  Scottish
Scotland 23-10 Fiji
14 Nov 09 |  Scottish
Lineen takes charge of Scotland A
06 Nov 09 |  Scottish

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.