BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 10:40 GMT, Wednesday, 16 September 2009 11:40 UK

Gael Force in British & Irish Cup

Stephen Gemmell
Gemmell also coaches Scotland's sevens team

Scottish Rugby has confirmed the name of the team to enter the new British & Irish Cup with Ayr and Heriot's.

Gael Force will be made up of national academy players and squad members of pro teams Glasgow and Edinburgh.

Coached by national academy manager Stephen Gemmell, Gael Force will play their home matches at Stirling County's Bridgehaugh ground.

Ayr and Heriot's feature in the event after winning last year's Premier 1 and Scottish Cup respectively.

"We felt it was important that the team had its own identity entering this new competition, so we've chosen a name that links to our Scottish roots and that we think is dynamic and vibrant," said Gemmell.

"Gael Force will be chosen from the ranks of our National Academy players and will be supplemented from players within our two pro-team squads, Edinburgh and Glasgow Warriors, who are not figuring in Magners League action during games in the British and Irish Cup.''

Force will open their campaign with an away match against Cornish Pirates and will also face Exeter Chiefs, Newport, Plymouth Albion and Leinster in the cross-border tournament.

Ayr's pool includes Doncaster Knights, Rotherham Titans, Birmingham & Solihull, Pontypridd and Cardiff, while Heriot's will be up against Nottingham, Coventry, Neath, Bristol and Munster.

National Academy players: Grant Anderson (Ayr), Alex Blair (Edinburgh Accies), Chris Bloomfield (Currie), Fraser Brown (Watsonians), Tom Brown (Edinburgh Accies), Tom Bury (Boroughmuir), Nick Campbell (Glasgow Hawks), David Denton (Edinburgh Accies), Struan Dewar (Heriot's), Michael Doneghan (Stewarts-Melville), Alex Dunbar (Selkirk), Chris Fusaro (Heriot's), Grant Gilchrist (Heriot's), Finlay Gillies (Heriot's), Robert Harley (West of Scotland), Robin Hislop (Boroughmuir), Stuart Hogg (Heriot's), Rory Hutton (Heriot's), Peter Jericevich (Glasgow Hawks), James Johnstone (Currie), Nicky Little (Hawick), Ashleah McCulloch (Watsonians), Stuart McInally (Watsonians), Lewis Niven (Edinburgh Accies), Neale Patrick (Boroughmuir), Neil Rodger (Haddington), Joe Stafford (Glasgow Hawks), Steven Wilson (Edinburgh Accies)

Print Sponsor

see also
Scottish rugby draft is revealed
14 Aug 09 |  Scottish

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.