BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 11:50 GMT, Thursday, 26 March 2009

Edinburgh v Connacht (Fri)

Venue: Murrayfield, Edinburgh Date: Friday, 27 March Kick-off: 1930 GMT Coverage: Updates on BBC Radio Scotland 810MW

Magners Celtic League

Captain Mike Blair returns to the Edinburgh side for the first time since January for Friday's Magners League clash against Connacht.

Edinburgh sit fifth in the table and are aiming to follow up recent home wins over Glasgow and Ulster.

Connacht make two changes and a positional switch for the game.

Kieran Campbell starts at scrum-half while Michael Swift is recalled to the second row, with Andrew Browne reverting to the back row.

"It is good to be back playing for Edinburgh. We are keen to generate some momentum and that starts with the Connacht match," Blair said.

"There are six games remaining and we believe they are all winnable matches."

Chris Paterson, Nick De Luca, Phil Godman, Ross Ford and Jim Hamilton join Blair in directly returning from Six Nations duty with the national side.

And Blair is confident a good result can lead to a successful climax to their Magners League campaign.

He added: "With it being such a tight league, if we can achieve that goal (winning their remaining fixtures) then we can finish near the top end of the championship."

Edinburgh coach Andy Robinson was in bullish mood ahead of the match.

He said: "Both Edinburgh and Glasgow have got six games to go and we can really make statements in this championship."

However, when asked if he would be interested in taking the Scotland job, should he be asked, Robinson told BBC Scotland: "My role's with Edinburgh and that is what my focus is."

Edinburgh: Chris Paterson; Andrew Turnbull, Ben Cairns, Nick De Luca, Simon Webster, Phil Godman, Mike Blair (capt), Kyle Traynor, Ross Ford, Geoff Cross, Craig Hamilton, Jim Hamilton, Scott Newlands, Alan MacDonald, Allister Hogg.
Replacements: Andrew Kelly, Gavin Kerr, Scott MacLeod, Matt Mustchin, Greig Laidlaw, David Blair, John Houston.

Connacht: T Nathan; L Bibo, G Duffy, K Matthews, F Carr; I Keatley, K Campbell; B Wilkinson, S Cronin, R Morris; M Swift, A Farley; A Browne, R Ofisa, J Muldoon (capt).
Replacements: A Flavin, R Loughney, D Gannon, J O'Connor; C O'Loughlin, A Dunne, M Deane.

Print Sponsor

see also
Magners Celtic League 2008/9
29 Nov 08 |  Rugby Union
RaboDirect Pro12 table
09 Aug 06 |  Tables
Regional rugby archive
07 Jul 03 |  Welsh
BBC Sport Wales coverage
03 Oct 11 |  Wales
BBC Sport NI coverage
11 Feb 09 |  Northern Ireland
BBC Scotland programme guide
26 Jul 09 |  Scotland

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.