Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 7 February 2007, 11:22 GMT
Dewey and Godman start for Scots
Rob Dewey will start at inside centre for Scotland
Rob Dewey was a try-scorer against England last weekend
Edinburgh trio Rob Dewey, Phil Godman and Scott Murray have been drafted in for Scotland's Six Nations date with Wales at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Andrew Henderson, Dan Parks and Alastair Kellock are dropped from the side that lost to England.

Inside centre Dewey and fly-half Godman will be making their first starts in a Six Nations match, while experienced lock Murray wins his 81st cap.

On the bench Nathan Hines, Simon Webster and Nikki Walker are added.

Head coach Frank Hadden said: "The advantages of the four stand-offs we have are that they are all totally different and allow the game to be played differently.

"We have picked a team to win this match and by changing the stand-off we will change the way in which we approach this game and play this game.

"Whereas we believed firmly that Dan Parks was the right man at Twickenham, we believe firmly that Phil Godman is the right man for this occasion.

"Rob Dewey took his try well last week and I see him in competition with Andrew Henderson for inside centre.

"I would like to see Marcus Di Rollo face the same sort of competition at outside centre but Graeme Morrison is injured at present and Ben MacDougall is just returning from injury.

"Scott Murray is our most experienced forward and we have opted for that quality on this occasion."

Simon Taylor will win his 50th cap against Wales and Hadden was full of praise for the back-row forward.

"Any time you ask Simon to improve upon something he does so," he added.

"Recently I have asked him to improve the quality of his verbal communication and leadership during matches and his response has been, typically, first-class."

606 DEBATE: Give your views on the Scotland team to face Wales

Scotland: Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh), Sean Lamont (Northampton Saints), Marcus Di Rollo (Edinburgh), Rob Dewey (Edinburgh), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh) capt, Phil Godman (Edinburgh), Chris Cusiter (Border Reivers), Gavin Kerr (Border Reivers), Dougie Hall (Edinburgh), Euan Murray (Glasgow), Jim Hamilton (Leicester Tigers), Scott Murray (Edinburgh), Simon Taylor (Edinburgh), Kelly Brown (Border Reivers) David Callam (Edinburgh)
Replacements: Ross Ford (Border Reivers), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Nathan Hines (Perpignan), Allister Hogg (Edinburgh), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Simon Webster (Edinburgh), Nikki Walker (Ospreys)



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us