Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 24 September, 2003, 11:06 GMT 12:06 UK
1999: Australia 27-21 S Africa
World Cup semi-final, 30 October 1999

This semi-final may have been without tries but it was by no means without incident.

Match-winner Steve Larkham is felled by Johan Erasmus
Australia 27
Pens: Burke (8)
DG: Larkham
South Africa 21
Pens: De Beer (6)
DG: De Beer

Australia had gone into the game gunning for revenge after losing 27-18 to the Springboks four years previously.

And in a thrilling encounter at Twickenham for a place in the final, they looked to have done enough as the boot of Matt Burke kept the Wallabies in front.

But Jannie de Beer, whose flurry of drop-goals had knocked England out in the previous round, kept the Springboks in the game with a last-ditch penalty.

That took the game into extra time but the day was not set to belong to the boot of de Beer as Steve Larkham unleashed his first ever drop-goal from 48 metres to win a final berth.

Australia had gone into the game with only 13 victories over South Africa in 44 previous meetings, while the Springboks had yet to lose a World Cup match in nine previous outings.

But it was the Wallabies who appeared the more attack-minded throughout the contest.

For all their efforts, though, they could not find a way through a resilient opposition defence.

As Burke and de Beer, who failed with four drop goal attempts, swapped spot kicks, Australia did actually cross the try line as George Gregan touched down in the latter stages.

The Australian scrum-half appeared to have scored in the corner, which caused a host of celebrations from the players.

But referee Derek Bevan insisted the score did not stand and South Africa earned themselves a penalty.

Then as the clock ticked over, de Beer got a final opportunity six minutes into injury time. He slotted the penalty over from 35 yards out to make it 18-18.

De Beer then put South Africa ahead before Burke levelled in the second-half of injury time.

In the end, though, it was the boot of another - Larkham - that proved the deciding factor. His drop goal sailed over and Burke added another penalty to ensure the win.

South Africa: Percy Montgomery, Pieter Rossouw, Pieter Muller, Robbie Fleck, Deon Kayser, Jannie de Beer, Joost van der Westhuiz; Os du Randt, Nata Drotske, Cobus Visagie, Mark Andrews, Krynauw Otto, Johan Erasmus, Andre Venter, Bobby Skinstad.

Australia: Matthew Burke, Ben Tune, Tim Horan, Daniel Herbert, Joe Roff, Steve Larkham, George Gregan; Andrew Blades, Michael Foley, Richard Harry, John Eales, David Gaffin, David Wilson, Matt Cockbain, Toutai Kefu

Links to more History stories



E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | US Sport | Other Sport | Olympics 2004

Scores & Fixtures | Have Your Say | Photo Galleries | TV/Radio Listings

Fun and Games | Question of Sport | BBC Sport Extra

Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport