Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 24 September, 2003, 11:07 GMT 12:07 UK
1991: Australia 19-18 Ireland
World Cup quarter-final, 20 October 1991
Lansdowne Road, Dublin

Ireland have often proved a handful at Lansdowne Road but no-one genuinely believed they would push Australia for the full 80 minutes.

Gordon Hamilton is mobbed after scoring what seemed to be the winning try
Hamilton looked to have sealed a famous win for Ireland
Australia 19
Tries: Lynagh
Cons: Lynagh (2)
Pen: Lynagh
Ireland 18
Try: Hamilton
Con: Keyes
Pens: Keyes (4)

The Irish nearly pulled off their biggest ever win in the 1991 tournament quarter-finals.

Australia had looked the stronger side in the game, scoring the only two tries of the match before a stunning climax.

With five minutes left on the clock and Ireland losing 15-12, a break by the home side resulted in the ball being popped into the hands of the charging Gordon Hamilton.

The flanker stormed past Australian wing David Campese, leaving him completely for dead as he sprinted 40 yards to touch down before being caught.

Hamilton was mobbed by his team-mates and a host of spectators in some of the most jubilant scenes Lansdowne Road had ever seen

Ralph Keyes, who had kept Ireland in the game with another solid kicking display, slotted over the conversion from the far left to take his side into a three-point lead.

Before the crowd and the players had had a chance to contemplate the next day's headlines or dwell on victory, the game turned once again.

Ireland conceded a penalty and Michael Lynagh looked set to step up and take the penalty to level the scores.

But instead the Wallaby number 10 opted to take a quick tap penalty.

A stunned Irish defence rushed to cover every way through but gave too much space for Tim Horan and Jason Little, who each made valuable ground.

Little whipped the ball out to Campese at the perfect moment and Campo leapt for the line, only to be felled just short.

The Aussie wing had just enough time to loft the ball to Lynagh, who bounced his way over for a famous win - and a heart-breaking loss for the Lansdowne Road faithful.

Australia: Marty Roebuck; Rob Egerton, Jason Little, Tim Horan, David Campese; Michael Lynagh, Nick Farr-Jones; Tony Daly, Phil Kearns, Ewen McKenzie; John Eales, Rod McCall; Jeff Miller, Simon Poidevin, Willy Ofahengaue

Ireland: Jim Staples; Simon Geoghan, Brendan Mullin, David Curtis, Jack Clarke; Ralph Keyes, Rob Saunders; Des Fitzgerald, Steve Smith, Nick Popplewell; Neil Francis, Donal Lenihan; Gordon Hamilton, Phillip Matthews, Brian Robinson

Links to more History stories



E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | US Sport | Other Sport | Olympics 2004

Scores & Fixtures | Have Your Say | Photo Galleries | TV/Radio Listings

Fun and Games | Question of Sport | BBC Sport Extra

Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport