Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 24 September, 2003, 11:08 GMT 12:08 UK
1991: Wallabies pip England
World Cup final, 2 November 1991

John Eales (left) and Tony Daly celebrate the result
Australia 12
Try: Daly
Con: Lynagh
Pens: Lynagh (2)
England 6
Pens: Webb (2)
England had spent the entire tournament relying on their forwards and the boot of Rob Andrew.

But bizarrely they threw that out of the window come the final, instead opting for a more open, running style in a bid to crack the Australians.

It failed as the Wallabies took victory courtesy of a solitary converted try.

Again the final was not the classic many had hoped for, aside from two major turning points.

The first came in the opening half when the mighty Willie Ofahengaue broke from the line-out, ripping through the English defence in the process.

As the Wallaby forwards burrowed towards the opposition line, Tony Daly pounced across for the four points.

England were by no means out of the game after the restart and came within a fingertip of scoring.

Facing a 12-3 deficit, England boasted a clear overlap but David Campese pounced to knock forward a pass to the open Rory Underwood.

Nick Farr-Jones
I recalled childhood memories of FA Cup captains at Wembley
Farr-Jones on lifting the Cup

Referee Derek Bevan opted for a penalty despite arguments from the English camp for a penalty try.

To this day, the argument drags on.

England insist Underwood would have easily ran in for the score, while the Australians argue he would have been caught by their back-tracking defenders.

Full-back Jonathan Webb slotted over the penalty but England's only clear-cut chance had gone.

Campese, despite the infamous incident of the final, had proved to be one of the stars of the tournament as Australia went on to win as clearly the best side in the event.

Australia: Marty Roebuck; Bob Egerton, Jason Little, Tim Horan, David Campese; Michael Lynagh, Nick Farr-Jones; Tony Daly, Phil Kearns, Ewen McKenzie; John Eales, Rod McCall; Willy Ofahengaue, Simon Poidevin, Troy Coker

England: Jon Webb; Rory Underwood, Jeremy Guscott, Will Carling, Simon Halliday; Rob Andrew, Richard Hill; Jason Leonard, Brian Moore, Jeff Probyn; Paul Ackford, Wade Dooley; Mickey Skinner, Peter Winterbottom, Mike Teague

Links to more History stories



E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | US Sport | Other Sport | Olympics 2004

Scores & Fixtures | Have Your Say | Photo Galleries | TV/Radio Listings

Fun and Games | Question of Sport | BBC Sport Extra

Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport