BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 21:50 GMT, Tuesday, 16 November 2010

Munster 15-6 Australia

Munster (6) 15
Pens: Warwick 3 Drop goals: Warwick 2
Australia (6) 6
Pens: Barnes 2

Thomond Park action
Munster's Niall Ronan is tackled by Australian Matt Hodgson

Under-strength Munster saw off Australia's midweek side in Limerick thanks to 15 points from the Irish province's fly-half Paul Warwick.

The teams were tied at 6-6 after a first half played in heavy rain and high winds, Warwick kicking a penalty and a drop goal for Munster.

Fly-half Berrick Barnes contributed two penalties for the tourists.

Warwick added two further penalties after the break and also knocked over his second drop goal.

Munster were without 17 Irish internationals although Keith Earls was made available for the contest.

Australia's second string still included 11 Test players but the visitors produced an error-ridden display and showed a lack of appetite during a second half totally dominated by the home team.

Munster, who memorably beat the 1978 All Blacks, were recording their fourth straight victory against touring Australia teams.

Australia coach Robbie Deans had insisted all Test spots ahead of Saturday's match away to Italy in Florence were up for grabs after a 35-18 loss to England at Twickenham last weekend.

But few of the visiting side enhanced their reputations at Thomond Park and the most impressive Australian on show was Munster fly-half Warwick.

Turning round at 6-6, Australia were forced to play into a howling gale and barely made it past the halfway line during the second half.

Warwick, a former Australia Sevens international, kicked a drop-goal and a penalty in the first half as Munster held the visitors to 6-6 despite playing against a howling gale.

He then nudged Munster in front with a penalty two minutes after the break and a further penalty and drop-goal after the hour put the home side in control.

Munster: J Murphy; D Howlett, K Earls, S Tuitupou, D Hurley; P Warwick, D Williams, W Du Preez, D Varley, P Borlase, B Holland, I Nagle, P O'Mahony, N Ronan, J Coughlan (captain)

Australia: L Turner; L Morahan, P McCabe, A Faingaa, R Davies; B Barnes (captain), L Burgess; R Brown, M Hodgson, S Higginbotham; D Mumm, R Simmons; S Ma'afu, S Faingaa, B Daley.

Print Sponsor

see also
Ulster 6-16 Munster
29 Oct 10 |  Ulster

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites