Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 16:44 GMT 17:44 UK
Leinster sign Le Roux and Gomez
Ollie Le Roux
Ollie Le Roux has won 54 South African international caps
South African international prop Ollie Le Roux and Argentine front-row Juan Francisco Gomez are among Leinster's signings for next season.

Le Roux and Gomez join Leicester duo Leo Cullen and Shane Jennings plus Connacht prop Stephen Knoop in moving to Michael Cheika's side.

Le Roux, who won 54 South Africa caps, moves from Super 14 club the Cheetahs.

Departures from Leinster include Andrew Dunne who has joined Connacht and Kieran Lewis who moves to Munster.

Gomez, who had a spell on loan with Stade Franšais last season, joins from Argentine club Los Matreros and has signed a two-year deal while 54-times international capped front-rower Le Roux moves on a one-year contract.

Knoop and scrum-half Chris Keane both join from Connacht on two-year deals while Devin Toner, Kevin McLaughlin, Richie Leyden, Cillian Willis, Jonathan Sexton and Ross McCarron have been awarded professional contracts.

All 12 of the representatives who featured on the Ireland Under-20 Grand Slam winning squad have been signed up in the Leinster Academy for next season.

They are Cian Healy, Richard Sweeney, Jamie Hagan, Ruaidhri Murphy, Conor McInerney, Kevin Sheahan, Sean O'Brien, Paul O'Donohoe, Ian Keatley, Shane Monahan, Felix Jones and Kyle Tonetti.

Meanwhile, Roly Meates has stepped down as coach to the Leinster senior squad after over 40 years service to Dublin University, Leinster and Irish rugby.

Leinster chief executive Mick Dawson thanked Mr Meates for his "outstanding contribution to both Leinster and Irish rugby".

"Roly has been one of the foremost scrummaging coaches in world rugby and I know that he has been an enormous help not just to his colleagues in the backroom teams over the years, but also to a multitude of players who have developed over the years under his expert eye," said the Leinster chief executive.

Leinster squad 2007/08:

Backs: Chris Whitaker, Cillian Willis, Chris Keane, Felipe Contepomi, Jonathan Sexton, Gordon D'Arcy, Brian O'Driscoll, Christian Warner, Michael Berne, Shane Horgan, Denis Hickie, Rob Kearney, Gary Brown, Girvan Dempsey, Luke Fitzgerald, Ross McCarron

Forwards: Ronan McCormack, Stanley Wright, Bernard Jackman, Brian Blaney, Ollie le Roux, Stephen Knoop, Juan Francisco Gomez, Trevor Hogan, Leo Cullen, Malcolm O'Kelly, Devin Toner, Des Dillon, Stephen Keogh, Cameron Jowitt, Richie Leyden, Shane Jennings, Keith Gleeson, Kevin McLaughlin, Jamie Heaslip

Transfers out: Andrew Dunne, John Lyne (both Connacht), Kieran Lewis, Niall Ronan (both Munster), Owen Finegan (Leicester Tigers), Robert Sweeney, Stephen Grissing (both Rotherham), Adam Byrnes, Harry Vermaas (undisclosed), Reggie Corrigan, Guy Easterby, Will Green, Ciaran Potts (all retired)

Blues 27-11 Leinster
11 May 07 |  Cardiff Blues


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us