BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 18:55 GMT, Saturday, 23 October 2010 19:55 UK

Connacht 6-18 Leinster

Connacht (3) 6 Pens: Keatley (2)
Leinster (5) 18 Tries: Nacewa, D Ryan Con: Sexton Pens: Sexton (2)

Isa Nacewa got Leinster's first try against Connacht
Isa Nacewa got Leinster's first try against Connacht

Leinster's recent revival continued as they saw off Connacht in a low-key Magners League match in Galway.

Joe Schmidt's side, seeking a fourth consecutive win in all competitions, led 5-3 at half-time thanks to winger Isa Nacewa's 14th-minute try.

Connacht missed out on a losing bonus point as Frank Murphy's pass was intercepted by flanker Dominic Ryan for Leinster's second try in injury-time.

Ian Keatley kicked Connacht's points with two penalties.

Jonathan Sexton landed two for Leinster, plus a conversion.

The visitors used the set-piece to set up Nacewa's opening score.

Former Ulster scrum-half Isaac Boss charged through a gap at the back of a line-out near halfway, and looped a long pass out to the left for Nacewa to gather and score a well-executed try.

A ruck offence by Sean O'Brien allowed Keatley to claw back some territory and after a similar infringement from Cian Healy, he opened Connacht's account with a 34th minute penalty.

Keatley should have sent the hosts ahead but missed his penalty to the right of the posts.

Sexton slotted a 49th minute opportunity from a left-sided position to make it 8-3 but Keatley's second penalty restored the two-point gap.

Leinster fly-half Sexton replied in the 65th minute after good carries from Shane Horgan, replacement Gordon D'Arcy and man-of-the-match Richardt Strauss.

As Connacht pressed towards the end, Ryan snatched Murphy's pass on the Connacht's 10-metre line and sprinted clear for a sucker-punch score.

Connacht: Duffy, Fanning, Ta'auso, Matthews, Carr, Keatley, F. Murphy, Wilkinson, Cronin, Hagan, Swift, McCarthy, O'Connor, Ofisa, Muldoon.

Replacements: Nathan for Fanning (70), Nikora for Keatley (60), Upton for McCarthy (78), Taylor for O'Connor (70).

Not used: Flavin, Fa'amausili, Loughney, Willis.

Leinster: R. Kearney, Horgan, O'Malley, McFadden, Nacewa, J. Sexton, Boss, Healy, Strauss, Ross, Cullen, Toner, O'Brien, Jennings, Heaslip.

Replacements: D'Arcy for R. Kearney (40), Reddan for Boss (65), Shawe for Ross (65), Hines for Cullen (59), D. Ryan for Heaslip (70).

Not used: Harris-Wright, van der Merwe, Conway.

Att: 5,000

Ref: George Clancy (IRFU).

Print Sponsor

see also
Connacht 27-13 Leinster
21 Apr 10 |  Leinster
Leinster 17-14 Connacht
27 Mar 10 |  Leinster
RaboDirect Pro12 table
09 Aug 06 |  Tables
Regional rugby archive
07 Jul 03 |  Welsh
BBC Sport NI coverage
03 Jul 08 |  Northern Ireland
BBC Scotland programme guide
26 Jul 09 |  Scotland
BBC Sport Wales coverage
03 Oct 11 |  Wales

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.