BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 19:18 GMT, Friday, 24 October 2008 20:18 UK

Connacht 14-27 Edinburgh

Connacht (0) 14
Tries: Duffy, Carr Cons: Keatley 2

Edinburgh (27) 27
Tries: Webster, Paterson, Blair Cons: Paterson 3 Pens: Paterson 2

Action from Galway
Craig Hamilton is tackled by Andrew Browne and John Muldoon

Edinburgh scored three tries as they beat Connacht 27-14 at the Sportsground in Galway to leapfrog the Irish province in the Magners League table.

Edinburgh led 27-0 at half-time with tries by Simon Webster, Chris Paterson and Mike Blair, while Paterson added two penalties and three conversions.

Connacht replied after the break with a Gavin Duffy try which Ian Keatley converted to reduce their arrears.

Fionn Carr added a further try with Keatley again adding the conversion.

Winger Webster opened the scoring with a seventh-minute try which Paterson converted and then the fly-half added a penalty after 20 minutes to make it 10-0.

Paterson then touched down for his try five minutes later and followed it up with the conversion and a penalty on the half-hour to take his personal tally to 15 points.

Scrum-half Blair scored Edinburgh's third try just before the interval and Paterson was again on target with the conversion kick.

Connacht fought back with Gavin Duffy crossing the Edinburgh line midway through the second period and Keatley knocking over the conversion.

Fionn Carr further reduced the Irish side's deficit with a try three minutes later and Keatley converted to restore some pride for the home supporters and secure a bonus point.

Connacht's chances of further adding to their score were reduced ten minutes from time when John Muldoon was yellow-carded.

Connacht: F Carr, A Wynne, G Duffy, M Deane, J Hearty, I Keatley, F Murphy, J Lyne, S Cronin, R Morris, M Swift, A Farley, J Muldoon (captain), J O'Connor, C Rigney.
Replacements: A Flavin, R Loughney, A Browne, D Gannon, K Campbell, A Dunne, T Nathan.

Edinburgh: Chris Paterson, Mark Robertson, Ben Cairns, Nick De Luca, Simon Webster, Phil Godman, Mike Blair (captain), Allan Jacobsen, Ross Ford, Geoff Cross, Craig Hamilton, Jim Hamilton, Scott Newlands, Alan MacDonald, Allister Hogg.
Replacements: (from) Andrew Kelly, Gavin Kerr, Kyle Traynor, Matt Mustchin, Ben Gissing, Simon Cross, Ross Rennie, Greig Laidlaw, David Blair, Hugo Southwell, John Houston.

Print Sponsor

see also
Magners Celtic League 2008/9
11 Aug 08 |  Rugby Union
Celtic rugby archive
07 Jul 03 |  Welsh
BBC Scotland programme guide
26 Jul 09 |  Scotland

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites