BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 21:46 GMT, Friday, 13 November 2009

Ireland A 48-19 Tonga

Ireland A (21) 48
Tries: Wilkinson, Trimble, Cave 2, Best, Duffy, Keatley Con: Humphreys, Keatley Pen: Humphreys 3
Tonga (14) 19
Tries: Lilo, Hufanga, Taula Con: Morath 2

Andrew Trimble feels the force of a Alipate Fatefehi tackle
Andrew Trimble feels the force of a Alipate Fatefehi tackle

Darren Cave scored two tries as Ireland A cruised to victory over Tonga at Ravenhill on Friday night.

Brett Wilkinson, Andrew Trimble and Cave went over in the first half but Tonga stayed in touch with tries from Vungakoto Lilo and Hufanga.

The hosts led 21-14 at the break and surged clear in the second half.

Neil Best, Gavin Duffy, Cave and Ian Keatley touched down for the Irish while Pa'alo'i Taula scored a consolation try for Tonga.

Wilkinson touched down after just three minutes before Ian Humphreys fired over two penalties for the Irish.

Tonga hit back on 17 minutes when full-back Lilo finish a good move for a converted try.

Trimble collected Fergus McFadden's pass before going over after 31 minutes and Cave added Ireland's third try eight minutes later.

There was still time for Tonga centre Hufanga to touch down and leave his side trailing by seven points at half-time.

Humphreys slotted over a penalty before Tongan prop Mosese Moala was sin-binned in the 48th minute.

Best drove over from a lineout for a try and Duffy was next on the score-sheet when he sprinted clear to touch down.

Andy Kyriacou set up Cave for Ireland's sixth try and Taula went over for Tonga before replacement Keatley scored under the posts to complete a comfortable win.

Ireland A: G Duffy; S Horgan, D Cave, F McFadden, A Trimble; I Humphreys, P Stringer; B Wilkinson, D Fogarty, M Ross; D Toner, D Ryan; S O'Brien, N Best, C Henry.
Replacements: A Kyriacou, B Young, D Tuohy, K McLaughlin, I Boss, I Keatley, J Murphy.

Tonga: Vungakoto Filimone Lilo; Latu Nagashima Alipate Fatafehi, Sukanaivalu Hufanga, Joseph Vaka, Poakikaifano Vakaloa; Kurt Morath, Kilifi Fangupo; Toma Toke, Semisi Telefoni, Mosese Moala; Kelekolio Paino Hehea, Emosi Kauhenga; Seti Filo, Uelenitoni Fono, Samiu Vahafolau.
Replacements: Willam Mosaati Hafu, Po'alo'I Taula, Penisimani Fakalelu, Lisiate Faaoso, Rodney Mahe, Mahe Fangupo, Raymond Pierre Hola, Manu 'Ahota'e'iloa

Print Sponsor

see also
Horan out of Ireland autumn games
06 Nov 09 |  Irish
Henry called into Ireland squad
27 Oct 09 |  Rugby Union

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.