BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 20:27 GMT, Saturday, 4 April 2009 21:27 UK

Munster 22-5 Leinster

Munster (6) 22
Tries: Earls, Fogarty Drop-goal: O'Gara Pens: O'Gara (3)

Leinster (0) 5
Try: D'Arcy

Doug Howlett and John Fogarty
Munster's Doug Howlett is tackled by John Fogarty

Munster extended their lead at the top of the Magners League to seven points by beating Leinster 22-5 in Saturday's inter-provincial derby at Thomond Park.

Two penalties by Ronan O'Gara gave Munster a 6-0 half-time lead and the Irish fly-half added a further penalty and a drop-goal in the second half.

Keith Earls extended the lead to 17-0 with a 61st-minute try.

Gordon D'Arcy scored a try in the 67th minute but replacement Denis Fogarty touched down for Munster on 72 minutes.

Felipe Contepomi was off-target with a third-minute penalty attempt but O'Gara made no mistake with his effort on 22 minutes, slotting the ball between the posts to make it 3-0.

O'Gara added a further penalty six minutes later but Rob Kearney missed an opportunity to reduce the deficit when he skewed his penalty wide in the dying moments of the first half.

Man-of-the-match O'Gara landed a penalty from in front of the posts in the 44th minute while Contepomi missed with his second penalty attempt.

An expertly executed drop-goal from O'Gara made it 12-0, before Contepomi missed with a straightforward looking penalty kick.

Earls scored the first try of the game, accepting a pass from Niall Ronan, before shrugging off the challenge of Kearney to touch down in the corner.

D'Arcy gave Leinster some hope when he completed a fine move by latching onto Shane Horgan's pass and crossing the Munster line.

The out-of-form Contepomi missed the conversion.

Lifeimi Mafi was sin-binned for striking Jonathan Sexton after a melee involving several players from both sides in the 70th minute.

Barry Murphy sent replacement Fogarty over for Munster's second try as Leinster failed to defend their line.

Munster: P Warwick, D Howlett, K Earls, L Mafi, I Dowling, R O'Gara, T O'Leary, M Horan, J Flannery, J Hayes, D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell (capt), A Quinlan, N Ronan, D Wallace. Replacements: D Fogarty, T Buckley, M O'Driscoll, D Ryan, P Stringer, B Murphy, D Hurley

Leinster: G Dempsey, I Nacewa, G D'Arcy, S Horgan, R Kearney, F Contepomi, C Whitaker, C Healy, B Jackman, S Wright, L Cullen (capt), M O'Kelly, R Elsom, S Jennings, J Heaslip. Replacements: J Fogarty, R McCormack, T Hogan, S O'Brien, C Keane, J Sexton, S Keogh

Print Sponsor

see also
Magners Celtic League 2008/9
29 Nov 08 |  Rugby Union
RaboDirect Pro12 table
09 Aug 06 |  Tables
Regional rugby archive
07 Jul 03 |  Welsh
BBC Sport Wales coverage
03 Oct 11 |  Wales
BBC Sport NI coverage
05 Aug 11 |  Northern Ireland
BBC Scotland programme guide
26 Jul 09 |  Scotland

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites