BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 13:31 GMT, Thursday, 31 July 2008 14:31 UK

Kidney announces training squad

Declan Kidney
Declan Kidney was appointed to succeed Eddie O'Sullivan

Declan Kidney's first squad selection since his appointment as Ireland rugby coach contains no surprises.

The 45-man squad for a four-day training camp next week includes the entire panel that travelled to New Zealand and Australia.

Gordon D'Arcy, Andrew Trimble and Leo Cullen all return after missing the summer tour because of injury.

The squad also includes 11 players who were in action in the Churchill Cup including Donncha Ryan and Keith Earls.

Ryan and Earls will be involved in their first Ireland senior camp.

The squad also includes Ulster players Neil Best, Rory Best, Isaac Boss, Ryan Caldwell, Tom Court, Stephen Ferris, Paddy Wallace, Roger Wilson and Bryan Young.


Michael Ross is also retained in the squad after being involved in Ireland's game against the Barbarians in May.

The four-day camp will take place in Cork from Tuesday 5 August.

Declan Kidney described the get-together as an opportunity to "set some foundations ahead of what is going to be an important November for us".

"We have a new blend of experience in the coaching staff and we felt that this camp would be key to getting the ideas of both the staff and players across ahead of the new season," said Kidney.

"Once we get into September, it really is a short space of time before we will arrive at our first camp ahead of the November games, so it will be important to our preparation."

Ireland squad: Neil Best, Rory Best, Isaac Boss, Tommy Bowe, Tony Buckley, Ryan Caldwell, Robert Casey, Tom Court, Leo Cullen, Gordon D'Arcy, Girvan Dempsey, Ian Dowling, Gavin Duffy, Keith Earls, Stephen Ferris, Luke Fitzgerald, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Marcus Horan, Shane Horgan, Bernard Jackman, Shane Jennings, Robert Kearney, Denis Leamy, Geordan Murphy, Donncha O' Callaghan, Paul O' Connell, Ronan O' Gara, Malcolm O' Kelly, Brian O'Driscoll, Mick O'Driscoll, Tomas O'Leary, Alan Quinlan, Eoin Reddan, Michael Ross, Donncha Ryan, Jonathan Sexton, Peter Stringer, Andrew Trimble, David Wallace, Paddy Wallace, Roger Wilson, Bryan Young.

see also
Rankings to determine RWC pools
22 Feb 08 |  Rugby Union

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.