BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 11:54 GMT, Saturday, 14 June 2008 12:54 UK

Australia 18-12 Ireland

Australia (15) 18
Tries: Barnes, Horwill Cons: Giteau Pens: Giteau (2)

Ireland (7) 12
Tries: Leamy, O'Driscoll Cons: O'Gara

By Richard Petrie

Brian O'Driscoll
Brian O'Driscoll brushes off Matt Giteau to score a try

Ireland went down 18-12 to Australia despite producing a spirited display.

Berrick Barnes scored a sixth minute try for the Wallabies but Denis Leamy replied on 15 minutes and Ronan O'Gara converted to make it 7-5 to the Irish.

James Horwill touched down after 21 minutes, with Matt Giteau converting and then adding a penalty to give Australia a 15-7 lead at the interval.

Giteau added a 42nd minute penalty but Brian O'Driscoll crossed the line on 62 minutes for Ireland's second try.

The Aussies started brightly and Wycliff Palu fed Lote Tuqiri, who was stopped just short of the line after barging through two Irish tackles.

However, he was able to pass to Barnes, who gave his side a 5-0 lead, Giteau just wide with his conversion attempt.

Ireland put pressure on the visitors during a frenetic start to the game but could not convert their pressure into points until the 15th minute when Donncha O'Callaghan won the ball at a lineout and Leamy got over the line after a rolling maul.


Six minutes later, Giteau powered through two Irish tackles and offloaded to lock James Horwill, who scored a try on his second appearance for Australia.

Stephen Ferris replaced the injured Shane Jennings for Ireland before Giteau landed a 27th minute penalty after the Irish back row had been penalised for not binding.

Two minutes before the break, Tommy Bowe sent Jamie Heaslip hurtling through and the home side were forced to concede a penalty.

O'Gara opted for a quick tap penalty, rather than take the straightforward three points, but could not make it count.

After half-time, Giteau executed a penalty after a mistake by Paddy Wallace and, soon after, Ireland interim coach Michael Bradley brought on Jerry Flannery and Eoin Reddan for Rory Best and Peter Stringer.

O'Driscoll intercepted an Australian pass on 55 minutes, but his attempted pass to Wallace went astray and the chance was lost.

After 62 minutes, Bowe collected an offload from Rob Kearney, broke clear and then passed to O'Driscoll who crossed the line to reduce his side's arrears to six points.

The Ireland captain had to retire hurt soon after, Geordan Murphy taking his place, and although both sides enjoyed periods of pressure, the scoreboard remained unchanged.

Ireland: R Kearney, S Horgan, B O'Driscoll (all Leinster), P Wallace, T Bowe (both Ulster), R O'Gara, P Stringer (both Munster); M Horan (Munster), R Best (Ulster), J Hayes, D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell, D Leamy (Munster), S Jennings (Leinster), J Heaslip (Leinster).
Replacements: J Flannery, T Buckley, M O'Driscoll (all Munster), S Ferris (Ulster), E Reddan (Wasps), G Murphy (Leicester), G Dempsey (Leinster).

Australia: C Shepherd, P Hynes, S Mortlock (capt), B Barnes, L Tuqiri, M Giteau, L Burgess, B Robinson, S Moore, M Dunning, J Horwill, N Sharpe, R Elsom, G Smith, W Palu
Replacements: A Freier, A Baxter, D Mumm, P Waugh, S Cordingley, R Cross, A Ashley-Cooper.

see also
International rugby photos
14 Jun 08 |  Rugby Union
O'Driscoll rues late Irish slump
07 Jun 08 |  Rugby Union
New Zealand 21-11 Ireland
07 Jun 08 |  Rugby Union
Duo set to make Australia debuts
11 Jun 08 |  Rugby Union
Kiwi Deans is new Wallabies boss
14 Dec 07 |  Rugby Union
Deans gives Wallabies a new look
02 Jun 08 |  Rugby Union

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.