BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 14:39 GMT, Friday, 9 May 2008 15:39 UK

Ireland call up Casey and Court

Ulster prop Tom Court
Tom Court will not travel down under with the Ireland squad

London Irish captain Bob Casey and uncapped Ulster prop Tom Court have been named in Ireland's squad for the game against the Barbarians on 27 May.

Court and Casey are among seven players named in a 37-man panel who will drop out of the squad for the Tests in New Zealand and Australia.

Andrew Trimble will miss all three games as he is scheduled to undergo a groin operation in the coming weeks.

Trimble's absence means Munster wing Ian Dowling will travel down under.

Harlequins' Michael Ross gets a first senior call-up for the Barbarians game.


Neil Best, Stephen Ferris, Ryan Caldwell and Leinster fly-half Jonathon Sexton will not travel to Australia.

Gordon D'Arcy and Leo Cullen were also not considered for all three games because of injury.

Caretaker coach Michael Bradley was forced to name a 37-man squad because the Munster players will not be involved in the game against the Barbarians because of the Heineken Cup final on 24 May.

Bradley is taking temporary charge because new coach Declan Kidney will not take on his role until after the summer tour.

The additional players who were involved in the Barbarians game will then move out of the senior squad and will be included in the Ireland A squad for the Churchill Cup.

Ireland face New Zealand on 7 June before taking on Australia on 14 June.

Bradley knows his team will be up against it in New Zealand and Australia.

We are travelling on the tour with a strong squad conscious of the fact that IRB world ranking points are available

Ireland caretaker coach Michael Bradley

"New Zealand is a undoubtedly one of the most challenging places to tour and to win Test matches," he said.

"That is quickly followed up with a game against an Australian side that will have the fresh input of a new coach and are always among the top sides in the world.

"We are travelling on the tour with a strong squad conscious of the fact that IRB world ranking points are available and that is what we are playing for."

The Ireland A squad for the Barclays Churchill Cup in Canada and the USA in June also includes Ulster players David Pollock, Roger Wilson, Darren Cave, Mark McCrea plus recent Ravenhill recruit Ian Humphreys.

Connacht's Johnny O'Connor is also named in the Churchill Cup squad as is Frank Murphy, who will join the Irish province from Leicester at the end of this season.

O'Connor and Wilson are among eight full internationals in the Churchill Cup squad.

Ireland A will face USA in Kingston on 11 June before taking on England Saxons in Toronto three days later.

They will also be involved in a game on finals day in the competition in Chicago on 21 June.

The squad will be managed by former Ulster assistant coach and current Irish RFU high performance manager Allen Clarke while John McKibbin will be tour manager.

Ireland squad:

Forwards: R Best (Ulster), J Flannery (Munster), B Jackman (Leinster), T Buckley (Munster), J Hayes (Munster), M Horan (Munster), B Young (Ulster), D O'Callaghan (Munster), P O'Connell (Munster), M O'Driscoll (Munster), M O'Kelly (Leinster), J Heaslip (Leinster), S Jennings (Leinster), D Leamy (Munster), A Quinlan (Munster), D Wallace (Munster).

Backs: G Dempsey (Leinster), G Murphy (Leicester), T Bowe (Ulster), I Dowling (Munster), L Fitzgerald (Leinster), S Horgan (Leinster), R Kearney (Leinster), G Duffy (Connacht), B O'Driscoll (Leinster, capt), R O'Gara (Munster), P Wallace (Ulster), E Reddan (Wasp), P Stringer (Munster).

Barbarians game only: N Best (Ulster), T Court (Ulster), B Casey (London Irish), R Caldwell (Ulster), S Ferris (Ulster), M Ross (Harlequins), J Sexton (Leinster)

Ireland A squad: N Best (Ulster), R Caldwell (Ulster), R Casey (London Irish), T Court (Ulster), S Cronin (Munster), S Ferris (Ulster), D Fogarty (Connacht), C Healy (Leinster), T Hogan (Leinster), D Hurley (Munster), J O'Connor (Connacht), D Pollock (Ulster), M Ross (Harlequins), D Ryan (Munster), R Wilson (Ulster), G Brown (Leinster), D Cave (Ulster), K Earls (Munster), I Humphreys (Leicester), D Hurley (Munster), K Lewis (Munster), K Matthews (Connacht), M McCrea (Ulster), F Murphy (Leicester), J Murphy (Leicester), F McFadden (Leinster), T O'Leary (Munster), J Sexton (Leinster).


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.