Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 30 April, 2005, 18:45 GMT 19:45 UK
Munster 24-14 Edinburgh
Anthony Horgan scored one of Munster's three tries
Munster (7) 24
Tries: Quinlan, Horgan, Foley
Cons: Burke (3)
Pens: Burke
Edinburgh (14) 14
Tries: Laney, Hall
Cons: Paterson (2)
Munster set up an all-Irish Celtic Cup semi-final against Leinster next weekend by fighting back to beat Edinburgh at Thomond Park.

A surprise appeared on the cards in the first half with tries from Brendan Laney and Dougie Hall helping Edinburgh to a 14-7 interval lead.

However, Anthony Horgan's touchdown helped put Munster in front and Anthony Foley's late try made the game safe.

Anthony Quinlan notched Munster's other try early in the first half.

The province started with 14 Irish internationals but Edinburgh tried their utmost to spoil coach Alan Gaffney's send-off from Thomond Park.

Lock Nathan Hines' sin-binning did dent the Edinburgh challenge in first half injury-time, and the Gunners duly succumbed on the back of a scoreless second half.

Lions lock Paul O'Connell ducked inside the tackle of Marcus Di Rollo to send Quinlan stepping through for Munster's 13th-minute opener.

Burke chipped the conversion over but two penalty misses from the fly-half allowed Edinburgh to mount a comeback.

From a broken down Munster attack, Laney picked up and dummied twice past David Wallace and Horgan to touch down between the posts.

Hall's 32nd-minute effort - only his second of the season - was then converted by Scotland player of the year Chris Paterson for a 14-7 lead.

Four minutes after the restart, Burke clipped over his first penalty before winger Horgan - set up by Shaun Payne's initial incision - went over to put Munster 17-14 in front.

Both Burke and Donncha O'Callaghan had try-scoring chances to add to Munster's tally, but it took Foley to barge over to confirm an all-Irish semi-final and his side's 10 straight win at Thomond Park.

The semi-final takes place at Lansdowne Road next Sunday.

Munster : S Payne; A Horgan, J Kelly, M Mullins, R Henderson, P Burke, P Stringer, M Horan, F Sheahan, J Hayes; P O'onnell, D O'Callaghan; A Quinlan, D Wallace, A Foley.
Replacements: E McGovern, J Flannery, D Leamy, T Hogan, M Prendergast. P Devlin, J Manning.

Edinburgh: H Southwell, C Paterson, M Di Rollo, B Laney, S Webster, PGodman, M Blair, A Jacobsen, D Hall, C Smith, N Hines, S Murray, T Blackadder (capt), A Hogg, S Taylor.
Replacements: A Kelly, A Dickinson, A Kellock, S Cross, R Lawson, B MacDougall, M Pyke.



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport