Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 1 January, 2005, 19:19 GMT
Munster 19-13 Leinster
Ronan O'Gara kicked two penalties before leaving the field injured
Leinster: (3) 13:
Try: Miller
Con: Holwell
Pens: Holwell 2
Munster: (9) 19:
Tries: Horan, Sheahan
Pens: O'Gara 2, Burke
Att: 8,000
Munster won a war of attrition at a wet and windy Musgrave Park where they saw off fierce Irish rivals Leinster.

Second-half tries by front-row duo Marcus Horan and Frankie Sheahan helped the Munstermen to their 10th consecutive Celtic League victory.

They did that despite losing fly-half Ronan O'Gara. He kicked two penalties before injurying his hand with his replacement Paul Burke landing another.

Eric Miller scored a late Leinster try and David Holwell kicked eight points.

The weather dictated that there would be no running rugby as Munster took a 9-3 first half lead with O'Gara finding his mark before Holwell levelled midway through the half.

Shortly after O'Gara banged over his second penalty he had to leave the field after taking a heavy tackle.

The Munster pack shaded the battle up front and after Leinster had been penalised Burke banged over a penalty.

Munster's forward again took control midway through the second half with prop Horan crashing over after a fine drive from a line-out by the pack in the 52nd minute.

It was same again seven minutes later this time, hooker Sheahan rumbled over from a rolling maul.

But instead of tossing in the towel, Leinster stormed back in the final 10 minutes.

First Holwell landed a penalty and some neat inter-passing by forwards saw flanker Miller squeezing over midway out.

But it was all too late by Leinster who scavanged a bonus point to remain in third spot.

Munster: Cullen, Payne, Mullins, Henderson, Horgan, O'Gara, Stringer, M. Horan, F. Sheahan, J. Hayes, O'Callaghan, O'Connell, Quinlan, Leamy, Foley.
Replacements: Flannery, McIlwham, Williams, T. Hogan, Prendergast, Burke, Lawlor.

Leinster: Dempsey, Horgan, O'Driscoll, D'Arcy, D. Hickie, Holwell, Easterby, Corrigan, S. Byrne, Cullen, Gissing, Miller, Jennings, Costello, Nebbett.
Replacements: D. Blaney, Potts, McCullen, O'Meara, Contepomi, Lewis.

Referee: Alan Lewis (IRFU).



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport