Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 20 July, 2005, 13:00 GMT 14:00 UK
Nine black players in Boks squad
Solly Tyibilika
Tyibilika replaces Schalk Burger at open-side flanker
South Africa have picked a record nine black players in a 22-man squad for the second Test against Australia in Johannesburg on Saturday.

Six black players will start the game, also a Springbok record.

Coach Jake White made eight changes and one positional switch to the team that lost the first Test 30-12 in Sydney.

"It is about creating opportunities and to be able to pick nine black players against Australia shows we are creating those opportunities," said White.

"This team announcement is special for me because when I took the job 18 months ago I said there were black players good enough to play for South Africa."

Right wing Breyton Paulse makes his first appearance of the season as does outside centre Jaque Fourie and number eight Joe van Niekerk.

We always said we would make changes after Sydney and this is not a knee jerk reaction
South Africa coach Jake White

And fly-half Andre Pretorius will take the field in a Test for the first time since 2003 when he faced Australia in Brisbane.

Jean de Villiers shifts from the wing to inside centre where he has made one previous appearance.

Open-side flanker Solly Tyibilika replaces Schalk Burger while Juan Smith comes in for Danie Rossouw at blind-side.

Both props have been changed with Gurthro Steenkamp playing loose-head and Eddie Andrews at tight-head.

"We always said that we would make changes after Sydney regardless of the result and this is not a knee-jerk reaction," added White.

Full-back Mat Rogers has been left out of Australia's team because of a knee injury and has been replaced by Chris Latham.

The only other change from last time out is the return of centre Stirling Mortlock in place of Morgan Turinui.

Utility back Elton Flatley is flying to South Africa to cover the loss of Rogers, who is returning home for knee surgery which could rule him out of the Tri-Nations series.

South Africa: Percy Montgomery, Breyton Paulse, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Andre Pretorius, Ricky Januarie, Gurthro Steenkamp, John Smit (captain), Eddie Andrews, Bakkies Botha, Victor Matfield, Solly Tyibilika, Juan Smith, Joe van Niekerk.
Replacements: Hanyani Shimange, Lawrence Sephaka, Albert van den Berg, Schalk Burger, Fourie du Preez, Jaco van der Westhuyen, Wayne Julies.

Australia: Chris Latham, Wendell Sailor, Stirling Mortlock, Matt Giteau, Lote Tuqiri, Stephen Larkham, George Gregan (captain); Bill Young, Jeremy Paul, Al Baxter, Mark Chisholm, Nathan Sharpe, Rocky Elsom, George Smith, David Lyons.
Replacements: Stephen Moore, Matt Dunning, Daniel Vickerman, Phil Waugh, Chris Whitaker, Morgan Turinui, Drew Mitchell.

Australia storm to Springboks win
09 Jul 05 |  Rugby Union


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other Sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport