Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 19 March, 2005, 17:14 GMT
Full time: Wales 32-20 Ireland
All the action as Wales took on Ireland in Cardiff.

80 mins: Martyn Williams kicks the ball dead to spark furious celebrations at the Millennium Stadium as Wales claim the Championship and their first Grand Slam since 1978.

78 mins: Ireland battle on as Wales make some nervous mistakes, but the tackling remains solid.

72 mins: TRY Wales 32-20 Ireland Wales hold out a furious Ireland attack through multiple phases, but Shane Williams cannot field a high David Humphreys cross kick which falls to Geordan Murphy who crosses for Ireland's second try. Humphreys converts.

69 mins PENALTY Wales 32-13 Ireland : Horan is penalised for a punch at a scrum giving Stephen Jones a shot at goal, which he converts nervelessly.

68 mins: John Yapp and Robin McBryde replace Adam Jones and Mefin Davies in the Wales front row.

66 mins: TRY Wales 29-13 Ireland Marcus Horan breaks a Gethin Jenkins tackle to cross from short range, David Humphreys converting.

62 mins: Ireland win a scrum five, but Wales' defence holds out.

60 mins: Ireland kick a penalty to the corner and the forwards rumble forward.

58 mins: TRY Wales 29-6 Ireland Tom Shanklin shatters the midfield line to send Kebvin Morgan in under the posts for a try converted by Jones.

54 mins: O'Driscoll breaks the Wales line and it is spread wide. Foley has the line at his mercy, but a desperate Shane Williams tackle nudges him into touch. Wales clear efficiently from the line out, but a furious fist fight between Paul O'Connell and Rob Sidoli breaks out on the floor. Both escape with a warning.

52 mins: 'Bread of Heaven' and 'Hymns and Arias' roar around the stadium as Wales appear to hold the whip hand.

49 mins: PENALTY Wales 22-6 Ireland A quickly taken Peel penalty takes Wales into the 22. With a try looking imminent, Ireland kill the ball at a ruck to give Stephen Jones an easy shot at goal. The referee warns Ireland about killing the ball. David Humphreys replaces Ronan O'Gara at fly-half for Ireland.

47 mins: Ireland drop an up-and-under to spark a furious Welsh assault, but Shane Williams spurns overlaps and Martyn Williams ends the move with a knock on.

46 mins: O'Gara tries a straight, long-range kick, but pushes it narrowly wide.

45 mins: Strong Ireland driving sets them up but Wales turn over ball and attack from deep in their 22. Shanklin kicks ahead, but Foley covers and Ireland win a penalty in midfield.

42 mins: PENALTY Wales 19-6 Ireland Wales win a penalty in front of the posts after stretching the defence through multiple phases. Jones goes for goal - and succeeds.

1628 GMT: Ronan O'Gara restarts the action, a Hickie knock-on gets a huge roar from the crowd.

HALF TIME: The crowd cheer Wales off the pitch as they sceure a 10-point advantage at the break.

38 mins: Wales are pinned deep in their 22 after losing their own line out.

36 mins: Tom Shanklin breaks the Ireland line, but the attack breaks down when Kevin Morgan knocks on on the Ireland 22.

33 mins: PENALTY Wales 16-6 Ireland Ireland win a penalty when Sidoli holds the ball on the floor following a fine run. O'Gara goes for a long-range goal - and succeeds.

31 mins: A good O'Gara kick wins his side a line out on the Wales 22. Ireland mount a series of attacks but the Welsh defence is firm.

30 mins: PENALTY Wales 16-3 Ireland A Kevin Morgan break takes Wales into the 22 and wins them a penalty when O'Driscoll interferes at the ruck. Jones goes for goal - and succeeds.

24 mins: Wales win the scrum against the head and Dwayne Peel clears.

23 mins: Denis Hickie splits the Wales midfield on halfway and finds support, but Wales halt the attack on their own line, giving Ireland a scrum five.

22 mins: PENALTY Wales 13-3 Ireland Gavin Henson lands a monster effort from 52m.

16 mins: TRY Wales 10-3 Ireland Gethin Jenkins charges down a Ronan O'Gara clearance kick and dribbles in from 25m to score the opening try. Stephen Jones converts.

12 mins: DROP GOAL Wales 3-3 Ireland From broken play a snap Gavin Henson drop goal is deflected and sneaks over the bar to level the scores.

11 mins: A superb Jones kick gets Wales a line-out on the Ireland 22.

9 mins: A long O'Gara clearance kick drops over the Wales line, Shane Williams labours back but just beats Denis Hickie to the touchdown. Play is called back as Brian O'Driscoll is penalised for a kick at Brent Cockbain.

4 mins: Ireland concede a penalty for hands at a ruck after a poor Peter Stringer kick had given Wales the advantage. Stephen Jones goes for goal from 37m, but pulls it wide.

2 mins: PENALTY Wales 0-3 Ireland Wales concede a penalty at the line out, O'Gara goes for goal - and makes it easily.

1 min: After an Anthony Foley charge, Ronan O'Gara's kick pins Wales into their 22.

1531 GMT: Stephen Jones kicks off the action in an electric atmosphere.

1525 GMT: A strong, travelling Ireland contingent of fans belt out 'Ireland's call.' Charlotte Church and Katherine Jenkins join Max Boyce to sing the Wales anthem, before the singing of 'Bread of Heaven' rouses the fans to new heights.

1520 GMT: Max Boyce kicks off the pre-match entertainment in the stadium with a new verse of 'Hymns and Arias' written especially for the day. The packed, fervent crowd go wild.

Wales' plans have been hit by late, failed fitness tests for three-quarters Rhys Williams and Hal Luscombe.

Experienced Scarlet Mark Taylor takes Williams' place on the wing, Ospreys centre Sonny Parker coming onto the bench in place of Luscombe.

Reserve scrum-half Gareth Cooper was ruled out on Friday night (ankle), Mike Phillips taking his place on the bench.

Wales: K Morgan (Dragons); M Taylor (Scarlets), T Shanklin (Blues), G Henson (Ospreys), S Williams (Ospreys); S Jones (Clermont-Auvergne), D Peel (Scarlets); G Jenkins (Blues), M Davies (Gloucester), A Jones (Ospreys), B Cockbain (Ospreys), R Sidoli (Blues), R Jones (Ospreys), M Williams (Blues), M Owen (Dragons, capt).
Replacements: R McBryde (Scarlets), J Yapp (Blues), J Thomas (Ospreys), R Sowden-Taylor (Blues), M Phillips (Scarlets), C Sweeney (Dragons), S Parker (Ospreys).

Ireland: G Murphy (Leicester); G Dempsey (Leinster), B O'Driscoll (Leinster, capt), K Maggs (Ulster), D Hickie (Leinster); R O'Gara (Munster), P Stringer (Munster); R Corrigan (Leinster), S Byrne (Leinster), J Hayes (Munster), M O'Kelly (Leinster), P O'Connell (Munster), S Easterby (Llanelli), J O'Connor (Wasps), A Foley (Munster).
Replacements: F Sheahan (Munster), M Horan (Munster), D O'Callaghan (Munster), E Miller (Leinster), G Easterby (Leinster), D Humphreys (Ulster), G Duffy (Harlequins).

Referee: Chris White (RFU).

Interview: Wales coach Mike Ruddock

Interview: Wales' scrum-half Dwayne Peel

Interview: Ireland coach Eddie O'Sullivan

Presentation: Wales lift the Six Nations Trophy

Wales v Ireland photos
19 Mar 05 |  Photo Galleries


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other Sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport