Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 16 May, 2004, 16:25 GMT 17:25 UK
Springboks name mixed squad
Bolla Conradie of the Stormers
Conradie is one of six black players called up by the Springboks
South Africa have selected six black players in their squad to play Tests against Ireland and Wales next month.

The squad is the first since South African rugby chief Brian van Rooyen introduced changes aimed at bringing more black players into the game.

"I'm very satisfied with the team selected and that they were selected on the basis of their ability to play for the Springbok team," said Van Rooyen.

"We've seen a lot of players of colour play excellent rugby this year."

Van Rooyen added that the squad, which will be the first to play under coach Jake White, "served the best interests of rugby in South Africa".

White took over as national coach after Rudolf Straeuli resigned in December.

Straeuli's reign was dogged by a dismal World Cup performance, revelations about a military-style boot camp before the tournament, and allegations of racism within the national ranks.

Montgomery in

He came under fire for choosing only one non-white player, winger Ashwin Willemse, in the 29-9 World Cup quarter-final defeat by New Zealand.

Willemse has been called up, along with Eddie Andrews, Bolla Conradie, Quinton Davids, Wayne Julies and Hanyani Shimange.

Full-back Percy Montgomery made the squad despite breaking his hand playing for Newport Gwent Dragons on Friday night.

"He has fractured a small bone in his hand - that sort of injury can heal within two weeks," said White.

"This means that he should be available but we have done a contingency plan with (Stormers fly-half) Gaffie du Toit."

South Africa play Ireland in Bloemfontein on 12 June and in Cape Town seven days later. They then take on Wales in Pretoria on 26 June.

South Africa squad: Eddie Andrews (Western Province), De Wet Barry (Western Province), Bakkies Botha (Blue Bulls), Schalk Burger (Western Province), Bolla Conradie (Western Province), Quinton Davids (Western Province), Fourie du Preez (Blue Bulls), Os du Randt (Free State), Jaque Fourie (Lions), Marius Joubert (Western Province), Wayne Julies (Free State), Victor Matfield (Blue Bulls), Percy Montgomery (Newport), Faan Rautenbach (Lions), Brent Russel (Sharks), Hanyani Shimange (Free State), John Smit (Sharks), Juan Smith (Free State), Jaco van der Westhuizen (Leicester), Joe van Niekerk (Western Province), Pedrie Wannenburg (Blue Bulls), Ashwin Willemse (Lions).

South Africa turn to White
13 Feb 04  |  Rugby Union
Springbok crisis rumbles on
02 Feb 04  |  Rugby Union
Krige quits Test rugby
13 Jan 04  |  Internationals
South African chief resigns
05 Dec 03  |  Internationals

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other Sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport