Scotland Wales Northern Ireland

You are in: You are in: Rugby Union: International  
Front Page 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Saturday, 16 February, 2002, 14:11 GMT
Clockwatch: England 45-11 Ireland

All the action minute-by-minute from Twickenham where England gain revenge for last year's defeat in Dublin by hammering Ireland 45-11.

Full-time: England 45-11 Ireland.

78 mins: Man of the match Jonny Wilkinson and Kyran Bracken are replaced by Charlie Hodgson and Nick Duncombe. Paul Wallace comes on for Ireland's Peter Clohessy.

72 mins: As Ireland enjoy some rare possession, Malcolm O'Kelly just fails to snatch a try after a lineout steal.

60 mins: England make a triple substitution with Danny Grewcock, Lewis Moody and Ian Balshaw coming on for Richard Hill, Martin Johnson and Austin Healey.

59 mins: The visitors produce a rare attack to score a try with O'Gara crossing the English line. Humphreys misses the conversion. England 45-11 Ireland.

57 mins: Ireland make a double substitution with Simon Easterby and Gary Longwell replacing Mick Galwey and Eric Miller.

56 mins: Greenwood notches his second try of the afternoon with Wilkinson's break yet again setting up the score. The fly-half adds the conversion. England 45-6 Ireland.

53 mins: Ireland make another change with Shane Byrne replacing Frankie Sheahan at hooker.

44 mins: Ben Kay waltzes through a non-existent Irish defence to score England's fifth try. Wilkinson adds the simple conversion. England 38-6 Ireland.

The Irish line out was under huge pressure in the first half
Joe Worsley outjumps Malcolm O'Kelly

Second half: Ireland make a change at the break with Ronan O'Gara replacing Rob Henderson in the backline. O'Gara takes over at fly-half with David Humphreys moving to full-back and Girvan Dempsey to centre.

Half-time: England 31-6 Ireland.

39 mins: Rampant England score their fourth try with Joe Worsley given the score after a long wait for the video official's decision. The outstanding Wilkinson hits a magificent conversion from the touchline. England 31-6 Ireland.

35 mins: Healey seems certain to score a fourth English try after a magnificent Wikinson kick into space but the Leicester man loses control of the ball after crossing the Irish line.

32 mins: England score their third try in 10 minutes with Will Greenwood breaching Ireland's shellshocked defence. Wilkinson's conversion puts England 24-6 ahead. England 24-6 Ireland.

28 mins: Humphreys replies for Ireland with a badly-needed penalty. England 17-6 Ireland.

25 mins: England rip the Irish defence apart again with Ben Cohen finishing off a magnificent move started by Austin Healey. Wilkinson adds the conversion. England 17-3 Ireland.

Brian O'Driscoll tackles England's Will Greenwood
Will Greenwood scored a first half try

22 mins: After Ben Cohen just fails to score a try a minute earlier, the superb Wilkinson makes another clean break through the Irish defence to score under the posts. He adds the simple conversion. England 10-3 Ireland.

18 mins: Humphreys misses a good chance to put Ireland ahead.

16 mins: Jason Leonard comes on for his 95th English cap because of an injury to Graham Rowntree.

13 mins: Ben Kay charges towards the Irish line but he loses possession five metres short.

11 mins: Jonny Wilkinson levels the match with a penalty from 25 metres. England 3-3 Ireland.

9 mins: David Humphreys puts Ireland ahead with a penalty from 35 metres. England 0-3 Ireland.

8 mins: Murphy is forced to leave the field and is replaced by Rob Henderson.

4 mins: Geordan Murphy then bursts into the English '22 but he picks up an injury in the process.

3 mins: Jonny Wilkinson cuts through the Irish defence with ease from halfway but he doesn't get any support.

1 min: Jason Robinson makes an immediate charge into the Irish '22 but a knock-on stops the attack.

Kick-off: Irish fly-half David Humphreys kicks off at Twickenham with the game starting in perfect conditions.

Backs: Jason Robinson (Sale); Austin Healey (Leicester), Will Greenwood (Harlequins), Mike Tindall (Bath), Ben Cohen (Northampton); Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle), Kyran Bracken (Saracens)
Forwards: Joe Worsley (Wasps), Neil Back (Leicester), Richard Hill (Saracens); Ben Kay (Leicester), Martin Johnson (Leicester, capt); Phil Vickery (Gloucester), Steve Thompson (Northampton), Graham Rowntree (Leicester)
Replacements: Dorian West (Leicester), Jason Leonard (Harlequins), Danny Grewcock (Bath), Lewis Moody (Leicester), Nick Duncombe (Harlequins), Charlie Hodgson (Sale), Iain Balshaw (Bath)

Backs: Girvan Dempsey (Leinster); Geordan Murphy (Leicester/Eng), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Kevin Maggs (Bath), Denis Hickie (Leinster); David Humphreys (Ulster), Peter Stringer (Munster)
Forwards: Anthony Foley (Munster), David Wallace (Munster), Eric Miller (Leinster); Malcolm O'Kelly (Leinster), Mick Galwey (Munster, capt); John Hayes (Munster), Frank Sheahan (Munster), Peter Clohessy (Munster)
Replacements: Shane Byrne (Leinster), Paul Wallace (Leinster), Gary Longwell (Ulster), Simon Easterby (Llanelli/Wal), Guy Easterby (Llanelli/Wal), Ronan O'Gara (Munster), Rob Henderson (Munster)
Referee: Peter Marshall (Aus)

Links to more International stories are at the foot of the page.


E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more International stories

^^ Back to top