BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 20:19 GMT, Wednesday, 21 May 2008 21:19 UK

Cipriani and Flutey land awards

Danny Cipriani
Cipriani had enjoyed a successful season before his injury

Danny Cipriani was given a boost as he recovers from a fracture dislocated ankle when he was voted young player of the year by his fellow professionals.

The Wasps fly-half beat team-mate James Haskell and Harlequins scrum-half Danny Care to the honour at the Professional Rugby Players' Association awards.

Wasps claimed a double with Cipriani's team-mate Riki Flutey taking the Player of Year honours.

He beat Bath centre Olly Barkley and Gloucester winger James Simpson-Daniel.

Cipriani, 20, had also been part of the five-strong nomination list for the Player of the Year award.

He was unable to collect his award - the Nick Duncombe Memorial Trophy - in person after suffering his horrific injury in Sunday's Guinness Premiership semi-final play-off victory over Bath.

To have been voted young player of the year by my fellow players is a huge honour

Danny Cipriani

He is set to be sidelined for up to six months, missing Wasps' Premiership final date with Leicester and England's summer tour to New Zealand, but could be back in time for the November internationals.

He said: "To have been voted Young Player of the Year by my fellow players is a huge honour and it means a lot to me.

"It wouldn't have been possible without the talented players around me and the continued advice and support from the coaches and management at Wasps.

"I would also like to take this opportunity to thank everyone at Wasps, Bath, England and the supporters for your help and support since Sunday.

"I am determined to come back from the injury a better player, both physically and mentally."

New Zealander Flutey, who will qualify for England in September, succeeds another Kiwi, Glenn Jackson, in claiming the top prize.


He moved to Wasps from London Irish last summer and has played a key role in the club's passage to the Premiership final.

Meanwhile, Jason Robinson received a special merit award for his contribution to rugby while his former England team-mates Jason Leonard and Richard Hill were inducted into the PRA Hall of Fame.

Former England international and retiring BBC rugby commentator Alistair Hignell was also given a special award for his "remarkable courage in battling with the debilitation of MS and for his tremendous contribution to rugby as both player and broadcaster".

Print Sponsor

see also
Cipriani earns more nominations
12 May 08 |  Rugby Union
Cipriani handed double nomination
07 May 08 |  London Wasps
Cipriani lives up to the hype
16 Mar 08 |  Rugby Union

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.