BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 17:24 GMT, Sunday, 14 November 2010

Harlequins 28-20 Newcastle

Harlequins (15) 28
Tries: Smith, York, penalty Cons: Clegg, Urdapilleta Pens: Urdapilleta 3
Newcastle (13) 20
Tries: Pennycook, Amesbury Cons: Manning 2 Pens: Manning 2

Harlequins edged past Newcastle to record their second successive win in the LV= Cup.

Sam Smith touched down his own kick to give Quins the lead before Richard Pennycook ploughed over to level.

Chris York was driven over by the pack, but the Falcons again hit back with two Jeremy Manning penalties.

A penalty try should have sealed it for Quins, but Charlie Amsbury's score had them under pressure before Ben Urdapiletta's penalty secured the win.

Harlequins: Chisholm; S. Smith, O. Smith, Casson, Lowe; Clegg, Moore; Marler, Brooker, Lambert, Kohn, Browne, Fa'asavalu, Wallace, York.

Replacements: Lindsay-Haugue for Lowe (54), Urdapilleta for Clegg (20), Dickson for Moore (57), Jones for Marler (20), Gray for Brooker (54), Johnston for Lambert (44).
Not Used: Robson, Guest.

Newcastle: A. Tait; M. Tait, Bobo, Henderson, Amesbury; Manning, Young; Shiels, Graham, Brookes, Townson, Swinson, Welch, Pennycook, M. Wilson.

Replacements: Ward for Shiels (46), Crombie for Graham (46), Hall for Brookes (57), Charlton for Townson (74), B. Wilson for Welch (60), Hogg for Pennycook (50), Fitzpatrick for M. Wilson (50).
Not Used: Catterick.

Sin Bin: Young (1), Pennycook (26), Swinson (61).

Attendance: 14,000

Referee: David Rose (RFU).

Print Sponsor

see also
Newcastle 18-17 Ospreys
06 Nov 10 |  Rugby Union
Leicester 25-34 Harlequins
05 Nov 10 |  Rugby Union
LV= Anglo-Welsh Cup 2010/11
02 Jul 10 |  Rugby Union
LV= (Anglo-Welsh) Cup Tables
09 Aug 06 |  Tables
Anglo-Welsh Cup archive
24 Jul 06 |  Welsh
Coming up next on Scrum V...
03 Nov 08 |  Welsh
BBC Sport Wales coverage
03 Oct 11 |  Wales

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites