BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:46 GMT, Thursday, 27 May 2010 16:46 UK

Uncapped Welsh hooker Ken Owens wins Barbarians call

Venue: Twickenham Date: Sunday, 30 May Kick-off: 1700 BST
Coverage: Score updates on BBC Radio 5 Live and BBC Sport online. Live on Sky

Ken Owens
Uncapped Welsh hooker Ken Owens has played regularly for the Scarlets

Scarlets hooker Ken Owens has been called into the Barbarians squad to face England at Twickenham.

The uncapped Welsh front-rower has been released from Warren Gatland's squad to join fellow countryman Martyn Williams in the Barbarians squad for Sunday.

Coach Philippe Saint-Andre has asked Xavier Rush to captain the Baa-Baas days after being beaten by the Kiwi.

Rush played a key role in Cardiff Blues' win over Saint-Andre's Toulon in Sunday's Amlin Challenge Cup final.

The inspirational New Zealander will be joined by Blues team-mates Casey Laulala and flanker Williams in Saint-Andre's squad.

Experienced Williams has been rested from Wales' summer squad to face world champions South Africa in Cardiff on 5 June and tour New Zealand.

Five members of Toulouse's Heineken Cup-winning squad are in Saint-Andre's squad.

All Blacks scrum-half Byron Kelleher joins Toulouse team-mate Jean-Baptiste Ellisalde at half-back.

New Zealand flanker Rodney So'oialo starts alongside Rush in the back row while George Smith is on the bench after jetting in from Australia.

The Barbarians side includes former England trio Paul Sackey, Julian White and Ben Kay.

Barbarians team to play England at Twickenham on Sunday:
P Warwick (Munster); P Sackey (Wasps), C Laulala (Cardiff Blues), F Fritz (Toulouse), C Heymans (Toulouse); J-B Elissalde (Toulouse), B Kelleher (Toulouse); R Roncero (Stade Francais), B August (Biarritz), J White (Leicester), R Skeate (Toulon), B Kay (Leicester), R So'oialo (Hurricanes), M Williams (Cardiff Blues), X Rush (Cardiff Blues, captain).
Replacements: K Owens (Scarlets), C Johnston (Toulouse), J Thion (Biarritz), G Smith (ACT Brumbies), P Mignoni (Toulon), F Estebanez (Brive).

Print Sponsor


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.