BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 22:31 GMT, Saturday, 17 October 2009 23:31 UK

All Blacks call up four new faces

Fly-half Mike Delany
Delany has impressed for the Bay of Plenty province this season

New Zealand have named four uncapped players in their 33-man squad for their upcoming tour to Japan and Europe.

Fly-half Mike Delany, winger Zac Guilford, full-back Ben Smith and utility back Tamati Ellison have all been called up by coach Graham Henry.

Smith, Guildford and Delaney have impressed at provincial level while Ellison is a past squad member

New Zealand face Wales, Italy, England and France in November and take on the Barbarians at Twickenham on 4 December.

Veteran winger Joe Rokocoko has been dropped after a disappointing season while lock Isaac Ross, who played in eight Tests this year, has been omitted to work on his physical condition and increase his weight.

"Isaac is going to be a strong scrummager and better at the breakdown and in the clean-out part of the game but he needs some time out of the game to develop the strength needed to do that," said New Zealand coach Graham Henry.

"We think that's exceptionally important for him and he will be come back a better player and be highly competitive at the international level."

There are also recalls for North Harbour's Anthony Boric and Canterbury duo Corey Flynn and Andy Ellis, who return after toe, arm and rib injuries respectively.

Ellis comes in for Piri Weepu who has not recovered sufficiently from an ankle injury, while Flynn gets the nod ahead of Aled de Malmanche for the second hooking spot.

As well as England, the All Blacks face Australia in Tokyo on 31 October before taking on Wales (7 November), Italy (14 November), France (28 November) and the Barbarians (5 December).

"Our basic goals for this tour are to play quality rugby that we're proud of and also to sort out some selections for the future," added Henry.

"There are a number of guys in this side who have been with the All Blacks for some time and we need to make sure that those selections are right going forward."

The coach also confirmed that there will be a reshuffle in the coaching team for the tour.

Henry will now take charge of the forwards, with Steve Hansen working on attack and Wayne Smith taking over defensive duties.

Henry has been the defence coach since his appointment in late 2003 with Hansen the forwards coach and Smith in charge of the attack.

New Zealand squad:

Forwards: John Afoa (Auckland), Anthony Boric (North Harbour), Wyatt Crockett (Canterbury), Tom Donnelly (Otago), Jason Eaton (Taranaki), Corey Flynn (Canterbury) Owen Franks (Canterbury), Andrew Hore (Taranaki), Jerome Kaino (Auckland), Tanerau Latimer (Bay of Plenty), Richie McCaw (Canterbury, captain), Liam Messam (Waikato), Kieran Read (Canterbury), Rodney So'oialo (Wellington), Adam Thompson (Otago), Brad Thorn (Canterbury), Neemia Tialata (Wellington), Tony Woodcock (North Harbour).

Backs: Daniel Carter (Canterbury ), Jimmy Cowan (Southland), Mike Delany (Bay of Plenty) Stephen Donald (Waikato), Andy Ellis (Canterbury) Tamati Ellison (Wellington), Zac Guildford (Hawke's Bay) Cory Jane (Wellington), Brendon Leonard (Waikato), Luke McAlister (North Harbour), Mils Muliaina (Waikato), Ma'a Nonu (Wellington), Sitiveni Sivivatu (Waikato), Ben Smith (Otago) Conrad Smith (Wellington).

Print Sponsor

see also
Gatland 'glad' not to be NZ coach
17 Sep 09 |  Welsh
New Zealand 33-6 Australia
19 Sep 09 |  Rugby Union
All Blacks keep faith with Henry
09 Jul 09 |  Rugby Union
Henry keen to keep NZ-only rule
15 Oct 08 |  Rugby Union

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.