BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 08:46 GMT, Tuesday, 26 May 2009 09:46 UK

Derby games for local rugby clubs

Dave Robins
Malvern's Dave Robins is looking ahead to plenty of local derby games

There will be a host of derby games in Herefordshire and Worcestershire, after the four leading amateur rugby clubs were placed in the same division.

Luctonians, Malvern, Bromsgrove and Hereford have all been confirmed in National Three Midlands.

Malvern director of rugby Dave Robins said: "It is a much better division for us because there will be three local derbies, those games attract good gates and good support.

"There was a chance we could have gone into the south-west division, which would have meant much more travelling - which is very expensive these days - so we are happy to be in the Midlands League."

In other divisions Kidderminster will renew rivalry with Droitwich, while promoted Worcester Wanderers will play in the same division.

The full line-up for National Three Midlands: Ampthill, Bedford Athletic, Bromsgrove, Hereford, Hinckley, Kenilworth, Kettering, Longton, Luctonians, Malvern, Newport, Peterborough, Sheffield Tigers, South Leicester.

Midlands Two West (South): Barkers' Butts, Bedworth, Berkswell & Balsall, Droitwich, Earlsdon, Kidderminster Carolians, Newbold-on-Avon, Old Coventrians, Old Laurentians, Silhillians, Spartans, Worcester Wanderers.

Midlands Three West (South): Dunlop, Edwardians, Harbury, Kings Norton, Ledbury, Old Leamingtonians, Pershore, Redditch, Shipston-on-Stour, Southam, Upton on Severn, Woodrush.

Midlands Four West (South): Alcester, Birmingham Exiles, Coventry Welsh, Dudley Wasps, Evesham, Keresley, Manor Park, Pinley, Rugby Welsh, Stoke OB.

Midlands Five West (South West): Birmingham CS, Bredon Star, Bromyard, Chaddesley Corbett, Claverdon, Clee Hill, Highley, Stourport on Severn, Tenbury Wells.

Print Sponsor