BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 17:04 GMT, Saturday, 21 March 2009

England Women win to retain title

England badge

England Women became the first women's team to win four Six Nations titles in a row as they thrashed Scotland 72-3 at London Welsh RFC to retain their crown.

Worcester wing Katherine Merchant grabbed four of their 12 tries in all, with Saracens' Charlotte Barras weighing in with a hat-trick.

Only a one-point defeat by Wales saw England miss out on another Grand Slam.

"This was a tremendous way to end the championship. It's a marvellous achievement," said coach Gary Street.

"Our defeat against Wales was real motivation for us to pick ourselves up and prove what we can do. Even though we haven't won the Grand Slam, this has been our best Six Nations championship in my opinion."

"I'm already focusing on the year ahead which includes the Rugby World Cup in 2010. To be honest, I can't wait for our next game now."

Wales won the Women's Triple Crown by beating Ireland 13-10.

England: Charlotte Barras, Katherine Merchant, Emily Scarratt, Alice Richardson, Fiona Pocock, Katy McLean, Amy Turner, Rochelle Clark, Amy Garnett, Sophie Flemming, Rebecca Essex, Joanna McGilchrist, Karen Jones, Gemma Sharples, Catherine Spencer.
Replacements: Claire Purdy, Katy Storie, Sarah Hunter, Sarah Beale, Georgina Rozario, Kimberley Oliver, Francesca Matthews.

Print Sponsor

see also
Wales claim Women's Triple Crown
21 Mar 09 |  Welsh
Italy Women 7-29 Wales Women
15 Mar 09 |  Welsh
England Women 52 -7 France Women
15 Mar 09 |  Rugby Union
England women back in title chase
04 Mar 09 |  Rugby Union
France Women 27-5 Wales Women
28 Feb 09 |  Welsh
Wales Women 16-15 England Women
14 Feb 09 |  Rugby Union
Wales women off to winning start
08 Feb 09 |  Welsh
Spencer leads Grand Slam success
16 Mar 08 |  Rugby Union
England women overcome Scotland
08 Mar 08 |  Rugby Union

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites