BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 14:19 GMT, Wednesday, 1 October 2008 15:19 UK

Wales confirm World Cup bid plans

South Africa wing Bryan Habana, head coach Jake White and skipper John Smit
South Africa beat England in Paris to win the 2007 World Cup

Wales are one of a record eight countries who have bid to host the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

The Welsh Rugby Union - who have also bid for the 2019 World Cup - have made two joint applications to the International Rugby Board (IRB).

The WRU have made one bid with England and another separate bid with the other home nations for the 2015 showpiece.

"We will focus on getting the 2015 World Cup and 2019 is our safety net," said WRU chief executive Roger Lewis.

Wales have hosted games in three Rugby World Cups as the Welsh Rugby Union aided England in 1991 and France in 2007 as well as being main host in 1999.

"We have an impressive record of hosting World Cups," said Lewis.

"And we want to work in partnership with our neighbours to bring this fantastic tournament to Wales."

The WRU propose that Wales play their pool games of the 2015 tournament at the Millennium Stadium as well as a quarter-final showdown.

Japan are bidding to host the Rugby World Cup for the first time as the Japan Rugby Football Union (JRFU), who lost out to New Zealand for the right to host the 2011 World Cup, has bid for the 2015 and 2019 events.

"We're bidding for Asia and for Japan," said JRFU chief Nobby Mashimo.

As well as the home bid for the 2015 tournament, Australia, Italy and South Africa have applied to host the prestigious World Cup finals.

And Australia, Ireland, Italy, Russia, Scotland and South Africa as well as Wales are keen on hosting in 2019.


Jamaica, who have never played in a World Cup, had been on the list of contenders for the 2019 tournament, but decided against pursuing their interest.

The International Rugby Board (IRB) will announce the winning bids for both the 2015 and 2019 tournaments in July 2009.

Jamaica have never taken part in a World Cup, while Russia failed to make the 2007 event after losing to Portugal and Italy in qualifying.

Japan were widely tipped to win the International Rugby Board vote but they controversially lost out to New Zealand in the second round of the secret ballot.

Wales have also applied to be joint host of the 2019 spectacle with Ireland and Scotland.

see also
England weigh up 2015 bid options
01 Oct 08 |  Rugby Union
Scots look to co-host World Cup
01 Oct 08 |  Rugby Union
Japan to bid for 2015 World Cup
01 Oct 08 |  Rugby Union
IRB confirm 2015 & 2019 host bids
15 Aug 08 |  Rugby Union
England and Wales ponder Cup bid
09 Jul 08 |  Rugby Union
Autumn plan for 2011 World Cup
17 Nov 06 |  Rugby Union
Japan accepts World Cup decision
09 Jan 06 |  Internationals
New Zealand handed 2011 World Cup
17 Nov 05 |  Internationals

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.