BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:39 GMT, Tuesday, 23 September 2008 17:39 UK

England to host women's World Cup

New Zealand won the 2006 World Cup in Edmonton
New Zealand won the 2006 World Cup in Edmonton

England has been chosen to host the 2010 Women's Rugby World Cup, beating a tender from the German Rugby Union.

The event will be staged across south-west London and feature the top 12 international teams in world rugby.

Rugby World Cup chairman Bernard Lapasset said: "The Rugby Football Union has great experience of hosting international rugby tournaments.

"With an extensive and enthusiastic support base, it is perfectly placed to host a successful tournament"

The tournament was last held in Edmonton, Canada in 2006 with New Zealand beating England in the final.

The venues for the 2010 tournament are yet to be confirmed but recent England internationals have been held at the Twickenham Stoop - home of Harlequins - London Irish's base in Sunbury and Esher rugby club.

The tournament was first held in 1991 and has contributed to the steady growth in the women's game worldwide.

In England there are now more than 550 affiliated clubs playing rugby and more than 12,000 women and girls taking part.

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites