BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:03 GMT, Saturday, 19 July 2008 13:03 UK

Australia 16-9 South Africa

Australia (5) 16
Tries: Tuqiri, Mortlock Pens: Giteau Drop-goals: Barnes

South Africa (3) 9
Penalties: Steyn 2, James

South Africa's Juan Smith is tackled by Wycliff Palu and Matt Giteau
South Africa found the Australian defence impossible to break down

Australia handed South Africa their second defeat of the 2008 Tri-Nations in a hard-fought encounter in Perth.

World champions South Africa took the lead through a Francois Steyn penalty but Australia hit back to take a 5-3 half-time lead when Lote Tuqiri scored.

Stirling Mortlock's powerful finish and a Matt Giteau penalty gave Australia a 10-point lead.

Butch James and Steyn landed a penalty apiece but a late Berrick Barnes drop-goal eased Australian nerves.

South Africa travelled to Perth after a win and a defeat on a draining tour of New Zealand but they had the upper hand for much of the first half.

However, a sixth-minute penalty from Steyn was their only reward for their territorial advantage and they trailed at the break.


Tuqiri finished off a sweeping attack in the corner after 35 minutes to put the Wallabies into the lead and they extended their advantage five minutes into the second half when captain Mortlock muscled his way over.

Giteau could not land the conversion from wide out but he was on target with a penalty after 51 minutes to put Australia 13-3 ahead.

South Africa roused themselves and enjoyed a spell of dominance that resulted in penalties from James and Steyn.

With the gap down to four points the Springboks were looking threatening but Australia managed to weather the storm.

They went back on the attack and Barnes rescued a halting move with a snap drop-goal in the 80th minute to ensure the Wallabies made a winning start to their 2008 Tri-Nations campaign.

Australia: Ashley-Cooper; Hynes, Mortlock, Barnes, Tuqiri; Giteau, Burgess; Robinson, Moore, Baxter, Horwill, Sharpe, Elsom, Smith, Palu.
Replacements: Polota-Nau, Dunning, McMeniman, Waugh, Cordingley, Cross, Mitchell.

South Africa: Jantjes; Pietersen, Steyn, de Villiers, Habana; James, Januarie; Steenkamp, Brits, Van der Linde, Botha, Matfield, Burger, Smith, Spies.
Replacements: Strauss, Mtawarira, Mujati, Bekker, Kankowski, Pienaar, Grant.

Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)

see also
New Zealand 28-30 South Africa
12 Jul 08 |  Rugby Union
New Zealand 19-8 South Africa
05 Jul 08 |  Rugby Union

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.