BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:14 GMT, Thursday, 22 May 2008 13:14 UK

Coventry pair in counties squad

Rugby union

Coventry pair of Chris Whitehead and Nathan Jones have been selected to play for the England Counties XV.

The duo will form part of the non-Premiership squad to represent the country on a three-match tour in the USA and Canada during June.

Whitehead said: "Being picked to play for the England Counties couldn't be a better end to a very enjoyable first year at Coventry.

"Being able to play regularly has been a great help in my development."

But Birmingham & Solihull second row Alex Davidson has been forced to withdraw from the tour because of a leg injury.

Davidson was injured playing for the North Midlands in their County Championship Shield campaign and has pulled out on medical advice.

His place in the squad is taken by Launceston's Stephen Pape. He joins All Blacks winger and team-mate Matt Jess in the squad.

Fylde winger Oliver Brennand features in the 26-man outfit as do Lancashire-based duo Jason Duffy and James Doherty.

Moseley winger Ollie Winter, who has had a season affected by injury and competition for places, and team-mate Mark Evans have also been selected.

They are joined by Stourbridge back Tom Jarvis.

Team manager Danny Hodgson said: "I'm excited about the squad's make-up.

"The selection process has been excellent with all the counties having been watched by an England Counties XV selector."

England Counties XV Squad to US/Canada


Gavin Beasley (Northumberland/Tynedale)
Oliver Brennand (Lancashire/Fylde)
Benjamin Coulbeck (Cheshire/Manchester)
James Doherty (Lancashire/Wharfedale)
Jason Duffy (Lancashire/Waterloo)
Thomas Jarvis (Gloucestershire/Stourbridge)
Matthew Jess (Cornwall/Launceston)
Nathan Jones (Warwickshire/Coventry)
Scott Rawlings (Staffordshire/Manchester)
Richard Wainwright (Yorkshire/Manchester)
Andre Wilson (Cheshire/Manchester)
Oliver Winter (North Midlands/Moseley)


Philip Boulton (Warwickshire/Bedford Blues)
Daniel Collier (Middlesex/London Welsh)
Stephen Pape (Cornwall/Launceston)
Michael Denbee (Somerset/Plymouth Albion)
Mark Evans (North Midlands/Moseley)
Daniel Hyde (Yorkshire/Otley)
James Kellard (Kent/Blackheath)
Timothy Mathias (Devon/Plymouth)
Sebastian Moss (Lancashire/Manchester)
Matthew Owen (Cheshire/Manchester)
Petrus du Plessis (Lancashire/Sedgley Park)
Christopher Whitehead (Warwickshire/Coventry)
Jonathan Williams (Northumberland/Tynedale)
Liam Wordley (Staffordshire/Henley)

see also
Nelson named Fylde's rugby chief
16 Apr 08 |  English

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites