Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 18 November, 2003, 11:28 GMT
Wilkinson wins players' award
Jonny Wilkinson
Wilkinson has been recognised by his peers
England's Jonny Wilkinson has won the International Rugby Players' Association player of the year award.

The English stand-off was the runaway winner of the prize, which was decided by a poll of Test players from Australia, France, Ireland, Wales, England, New Zealand and South Africa.

The next four players in the final voting were all New Zealanders - Carlos Spencer, Doug Howlett, Joe Rokocoko and Richie McCaw.

But the All Blacks, who were beaten by Australia in last weekend's World cup semi-finals, got some consolation when they beat England for the team of the year title.

And New Zealand winger Joe Rokocoko was named newcomer of the year.

Wilkinson and McCaw are also on a shortlist of five players nominated for the International Rugby Board (IRB) player of the year award to be announced in Sydney on Sunday.

England hooker Steve Thompson, France number eight Imanol Harinordoquy and Australia flanker Phil Waugh were also nominated.

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport