Scotland Wales Northern Ireland

You are in: You are in: Rugby Union  
Front Page 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Monday, 12 November, 2001, 09:55 GMT
Wood wins top award
Keith Wood receives his award from Sir Steven Redgrave
Wood's form for the Lions helped clinch the gong
Click here for a list of winners

Ireland captain Keith Wood has won the International Rugby Board's player of the year award.

Wood was the inspiration behind Ireland's stunning Six Nations victory over England in Dublin in October.

And he also had a starring role in the Lions tour of Australia earlier in the year.

Wood's fellow countryman Brian O'Driscoll, England fly-half Jonny Wilkinson and Australia's George Gregan and George Smith were the other finalists.

Australia's John Eales
Eales picked up a special award
The world champions Australia were selected as team of the year, after their series win against the Lions and success in the Tri-Nations.

New Zealand claimed the sevens team of the year award, the All Blacks defended their world title by winning six of the nine tournaments on the IRB's circuit.

World Cup-winning Wallabies skipper John Eales, who retired after the Tri-Nations, picked up a special chairman's award from IRB chief Vernon Pugh.

The winners were decided by a panel of 10 judges made up of former players from around the world.

Full list of winners

  • International Player of the Year: Keith Wood (Ireland)
  • International Team of the Year: Australia
  • International Coach of the Year: Rod Macqueen (Australia)
  • International Young Player of the Year: Gavin Henson (Wales)
  • International Women's Player of the Year: Shelley Rae (England)
  • Referee Award for Distinguished Service: Ed Morrison (England)
  • Spirit of Rugby Award: Tim Grandadge (India)
  • Chairman's Awards: Kath McLean (East Coast Province, New Zealand), Sir Terry McLean (New Zealand), Albert Farasse (France), John Eales (Australia)
  • Development Awards: Uruguay - for work done in the development of a new national stadium, Jorge Brasceras (Argentina) for coaching, training and development.
  • IRB Distinguished Service Award: Tom Kiernan (Ireland)

    Back to top

  • See also:

    11 Nov 01 |  Rugby Union
    Ireland 'still have work to do'
    11 Nov 01 |  Rugby Union
    Broken thumb rules Herbert out
    11 Nov 01 |  Rugby Union
    Harris wants another chance
    Links to more Rugby Union stories are at the foot of the page.


    E-mail this story to a friend

    Links to more Rugby Union stories

    ^^ Back to top