Scotland Wales Northern Ireland
BBC Homepage feedback | low graphics version
BBC Sport Online
You are in: Rugby Union  
Front Page 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Wednesday, 9 May, 2001, 20:18 GMT 21:18 UK
Lomu lines up for Baa-Baas
Jonah Lomu
Lomu heads a large southern hemisphere contingent
The Barbarians have named a star-studded 36-man squad for this month's Scottish Amicable tour, featuring games against Wales, Scotland and England.

Jonah Lomu, Joost van der Westhuizen and Josh Kronfeld are among the main attractions in a southern hemisphere-dominated tour party.

British interest lies with the likes of England wing Dan Luger, who will play against Wales on Sunday week to gain match practice for this summer's Lions tour, and Bath duo Ben Clarke Kevin Yates.

Yates, capped by England against Argentina four years ago, landed a Super 12 contract with Wellington Hurricanes after an ear-biting incident led to Rugby Football Union disciplinary chiefs banning him for six months in 1998.

But several Premiership clubs have been tracking him, and it could well be that Yates signs on the dotted line - possibly at Sale - when he returns to Britain.

The Baa-Baas tour kicks off against Wales in Cardiff, followed by Scotland at Murrayfield on 24 May and then England at Twickenham three days later.

The squad in full:

Backs: P Montgomery (Stormers and South Africa), T Castaignede (Saracens and France), C Stoica (Narbonne and Italy), G Murphy (Leicester and Ireland), D Luger (Saracens and England), F Lombard (Blue Bulls), J Lomu (Hurricanes and New Zealand), P Bernat-Salles (Biarritz and France), J Vidiri (Blues and New Zealand), T Horan (Saracens and Australia), J Little (Gloucester and Australia), K Maggs (Bath and Ireland), J Guscott (Bath and England), P Howard (Leicester and Australia), B van Straaten (Stormers and South Africa), J van der Westhuizen (Blue Bulls and South Africa), A Gomarsall (Gloucester and England), P Carbonneau (Pau and France).

Forwards: C Califano (Auckland and France), G Pagel (Northampton and South Africa), C Dowd (Blues and New Zealand), A Garvey (Newport and South Africa), K Yates (Hurricanes and England), N Drotske (Blue Bulls and South Africa), R Cockerill (Leicester and England), T Leota (Wasps and Samoa), I Jones (New Zealand), V Matfield (Blue Bulls), J Langford (Munster and Australia), R Brooke (Blues and New Zealand), D Wilson (Harlequins and Australia), B Clarke (Bath and England), G Teichmann (Newport and South Africa), P Lam (Samoa), J Kronfeld (New Zealand), B Skinstad (Stormers and South Africa).

Search BBC Sport Online
Advanced search options
Links to top Rugby Union stories are at the foot of the page.

Links to other Rugby Union stories

^^ Back to top