Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Friday, 27 February, 2004, 20:48 GMT
Wigan's record Cup run
Wigan won the Challenge Cup for eight successive years from 1988 to 1995.

Here, BBC Sport Interactive charts each one of the record-breaking seasons:


Shaun Edwards in 1988
First round: Wigan 2-0 Bradford Northern
Second round: Wigan 30-14 Leeds
Third round: Wigan 10-1 Widnes
Semi-final: Wigan 34-4 Salford (Burnden Park, Bolton)

Final: Wigan 32-12 Halifax (Wembley)

Wigan: Lydon (1t, 1g); T Iro (1t), K Iro (2t), Bell (1t), Gill (1t); Edwards (capt) (Byrne), Gregory (1g); Case, Kiss, Shelford, Goodway, Potter (Wane), Hanley (1t).
Coach: Graham Lowe.

Halifax: Eadie (capt); Meredith, T Anderson (1t), Wilkinson, Whitfield (2g); Grogan , S Robinson (Fairbank); James (1t), McCallion, Neller, Holliday (Scott), Dixon, Pendlebury.
Coach: Chris Anderson.

Referee: Fred Lindop (Wakefield).


Ellery Hanley in 1989
First round: Doncaster 6-38 Wigan
Second round: Bradford Northern 4-17 Wigan
Third round: Oldham 4-12 Wigan
Semi-final: Wigan 13-6 Warrington 13-6 (Maine Road, Manchester)

Final: Wigan 27-0 St Helens (Wembley)

Wigan: Hampson (1t); T Iro, K Iro (2t), Bell, Lydon (3g); Edwards, Gregory (1t, 1dg); Lucas, Kiss (Betts), Shelford, Platt, Potter (Goodway), Hanley (capt, 1t).
Coach: Graham Lowe.

St Helens: Connolly; O'Connor, Veivers, Loughlin (Bloor), Quirk; Copper, Holding; Burke, Groves, Forber, Dwyer (Evans), Haggerty, Vautin (capt).
Coach: Alex Murphy.

Referee: Ray Tennant (Castleford).


Ellery Hanley in 1990
First round: Hull KR 4-6 Wigan
Second round: Wigan 30-6 Dewsbury 30-6
Third round: Wakefield Trinity 14-26 Wigan
Semi-final: Wigan 20-14 St Helens (Old Trafford, Manchester)

Final: Wigan 36-14 Warrington (Wembley)

Wigan: Hampson; Lydon (6g), K Iro (2t), Bell, Preston (2t) (Gildart); Edwards, Gregory; Shelford, Dermott (Goulding), Platt, Betts (1t), Goodway, Hanley (capt, 1t).
Coach: John Monie.

Warrington: Lyon (1t); Drummond, Mercer, Darbyshire (1g), Forster; Crompton, Bishop (2g) (McGinty); Burke, Mann, Harmon, Jackson (Thomas), Sanderson, M Gregory (capt, 1t).
Coach: Brian Johnson.

Referee: John Holdsworth (Kippax).


Phil Clarke in 1991
First round: Castleford 4-28 Wigan
Second round: Rochdale Hornets 4-72 Wigan
Third round: Wigan 32-2 Bradford Northern
Semi-final: Wigan 30-16 Oldham (Burnden Park, Bolton)

Final: Wigan 13-8 St Helens (Wembley)

Wigan: Hampson; Myers (1t), K Iro, Bell, Botica (1t, 2g); Edwards, Gregory (1dg); Lucas, Dermott (Goulding), Platt, Betts, Clarke (Goodway), Hanley (capt).
Coach: John Monie.

St Helens: Veivers (Connolly); Hunte (1t), Ropati, Loughlin, Quirk; Griffiths, Bishop (2g); Neill (Groves), Dwyer, Ward, Harrison, Mann, Cooper (capt).
Coach: Mike McClennan.

Referee: Jim Smith (Halifax).


Dean Bell in 1992
First round: Salford 6-22 Wigan
Second round: Wigan 14-0 Warrington
Third round: St Helens 6-13 Wigan
Semi-final: Wigan 71-10 Bradford Northern (Burnden Park, Bolton)

Final: Wigan 28-12 Castleford (Wembley)

Wigan: Lydon (2dg); Botica (5g), Bell (capt), Miles, Offiah (2t); Edwards (1t), Gregory; Skerrett, Dermott, Platt, Betts, McGinty (Hampson 1t) (Cowie), Clarke.
Coach: John Monie.

Castleford: Steadman; Wray, Ellis, Blackmore (1t), Nelson; Anderson (T Smith), Ford; Crooks (capt) (Sampson), Southernwood, England (1t), Bradley, Ketteridge (2g), Nikau.
Coach: Darryl Van de Velde.

Referee: Robin Whitfield (Widnes).


Sam Panapa in 1993
Preliminary round: Wigan 40-2 Hull
First round: Dewsbury 4-20 Wigan
Second round: Wigan 23-3 St Helens
Third round: Halifax 18-19 Wigan
Semi-final: Wigan 15-6 Bradford Northern (Elland Road, Leeds)

Final: Wigan 20-14 Widnes (Wembley)

Wigan: Hampson; Robinson, Lydon (Panapa 1t), Farrar, Offiah; Botica (4g), Edwards; Skerrett (1t) (Farrell), Dermott, Platt, Betts, Clarke, Bell (capt, 1t).
Coach: John Monie.

Widnes: Spruce; Devereux, Currier (McCurrie), D Wright, Myers; Davies (3g), Goulding; Sorensen (1t), P Hulme (capt), Howard, R Eyres (t), Faimalo (J O'Neill), D Hulme.
Coach: Phil Larder.

Referee: Russell Smith (Castleford).


Martin Offiah in 1994
Fourth round: Wigan 24-16 Wakefield Trinity
Fifth round: Hull 22-22 Wigan
Sixth round: Wigan 32-14 Featherstone Rovers
Semi-final: Wigan 20-6 Castleford (Elland Road, Leeds)

Final: Wigan 26-16 Leeds (Wembley)

Wigan: Connolly; Tuigamala, Bell (capt), Mather, Offiah (2t); Botica (5g), Edwards; Skerrett, Dermot, Platt (Panapa 1t), Betts, Farrell (1t) (Cassidy), Clarke.
Coach: John Dorahy.

Leeds: Tait; Fallon (1t), Iro, Innes, Cummins (1t); Holroyd (2g), Schofield (1t); Harmon (M O'Neill), Lowes, Howard, Mercer, Eyres, Hanley (capt) (Vassilakopoulos).
Coach: Doug Laughton.

Referee: David Campbell (Widnes).


Dennis Betts in 1995
Fourth round: Wigan 16-16 St Helens
Replay: St Helens 24-40 Wigan
Fifth round: Batley 4-70 Wigan)
Sixth round: Widnes 12-26 Wigan
Semi-final: Wigan 48-20 Oldham (McAlpine Stadium, Huddersfield)

Final: Wigan 30-10 Leeds (Wembley)

Wigan: Paul (1t); Robinson (2t), Tuigamala (1t), Connolly, Offiah; Botica (5g), Edwards (capt); Skerrett (Atcheson), Hall (1t), Cowie, Betts, Cassidy (Farrell), Clarke.
Coach: Graeme West.

Leeds: Tait; Fallon, Iro, Innes, Cummins; Schofield, Holroyd (3g); Howard (Mann), Lowes (1t), Faimalo (Harmon), Mercer, Eyres, Hanley (capt).
Coach: Doug Laughton.

Referee: Russell Smith (Castleford).

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other Sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport